We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stopover.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Tor Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added High Tor Guesthouse to your Saves list
High Tor Guesthouse
7, Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One night stopover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very nice room with a great breakfast.
An attentive couple who went the extra mile and ensured my stay was as good as any I've had in a B&B.
The room was clean and I had a huge bed. Nice to have biscuits with my tea and coffee too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
114
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from two nights in Room 4 (de-luxe room) and were so impressed with this guest house.
The room had a lovely large bed, a leather settee to sit on and watch TV, a very good hospitality tray, wine glasses and bottle opener for the bottle of wine we bought from the nearby off-licence, lovely white bath robes, a beautiful shower room with power shower and his and hers sinks, good sized and quality towels, handwash, shower gel/shampoo, face cloths all provided and even facial wipes to remove my make-up on an evening. Everything was so clean and fresh, a real pleasure to be there.
This quality continued in the breakfast room, everything spick and span even down to proper napkins for breakfast, no paper ones here. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and presented and as much or as little as you wished, nothing was too much trouble, with cereal, fruit, yoghurt and fruit juice to start with.
The whole guest house was of good quality throughout, with nice thick carpet on the stairs, and even small dishes of sweets on various landings to help yourself to, such a lot of thought seemed to have gone into everything.
Yes if you are less mobile you need a lower floor, and even though the parking on the street is free and unlimited you are lucky to get a place, we had to park on the next street, but these are the only downsides, all in all a lovely place to spend a few days and near to all the attractions Whitby has to offer.

Room Tip: Room No. 4 is at the front, de-luxe room with beautiful shower room but quite a few stairs to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Really enjoyed our two night stay at High Tor. Room was well decorated in a contemporary style. Very comfortable bed & spacious room with good storage and sitting areas. Lovely spotless ensuite with plenty of hot water. Good hospitality tray including wine glasses & corkscrew. The breakfast was excellent, good food & lovely laid table. Tina & Alan made us feel very welcome. Would certainly stay here again next time we are in Whitby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

just had a fantastic four night stay at high tor with friends, we couldnt fault anything. our room no2 was spotlessly clean with a very large bed which was so comfy you didnt want to get out of it, the shower in the bathroom was hot and powerful and toiletries were provided so you dont need to take any with you there was also complimentary hot chocolate and biscuits to enjoy at night. the breakfast was superb plenty of cereals to choose from +fresh fruit, yoghurt and fruit juice the cooked breakfast was always served hot and there was plenty of it with tea/coffee and toast. many thanks tina and alan we will definately be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed three nights, and our friends one and two nights at High Tor. Most impressed with the accommodation - beautifully clean and comfortable and individually decorated with style. Breakfast room was terrific, so light and airy, with a friendly vibe, helped by the marvellous hospitality of Tina and Alan, who really went the extra mile to ensure that breakfasts were exactly what we wanted. They also provided great background information about Whitby and nothing was too much trouble. We noticed that others in the breakfast room were similarly impressed with the standard of accommodation and service. A really pleasant, relaxed and comfortable stay. Well done Tina and Alan - we'll be back and also many of our friends from UK and Australia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from two nights in Whitby staying at High Tor, we went with friends and were all highly delighted with High Tor, from booking to leaving a well run efficient B&B, a warm friendly greeting from Tina and Alan, very chatty and informative, our rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated as were all the public areas, breakfast was piping hot, plentiful and just what we needed to set us up for exploring Whitby. A great B&B will definately be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aydin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Faultless. My wife and I stayed in the High Tor for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
Lovely breakfast and the whole place is spotlessly clean. We would definitely stay at the High Tor again. And the fish and chips in Whitby!! World Famous.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Tor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tor Guesthouse

Address: 7, Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Tor Guest House is an elegant Victorian town house set in the ancient North Yorkshire Maritime town of Whitby. Sue and Gary assure of a very warm welcome and the highest standards of cleanliness and hospitality, in a relaxed and friendly home from home. For your comfort we operate a strictly no smoking policy throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your High Tor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Tor Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.