We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elford Guest House

Save Saved
You added Elford Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elford Guest House
10 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 144 Whitby B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our second trip to the Elford. The room was on the second floor. It was well decorated. The main problem was that the settee and coffee table were in the corner under the sloping roof, which made it not very practical for us. I felt that it was expensive for what we got, and feel that it did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
140
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was dead nice, we had a small room with ensuite and TV with Freeview. Even though we didn't pay for breakfast, every morning at half past 8, we were left a continental breakfast basket which included: toast, yoghurt, fruit juice, cereal, milk, jams, cheeses etc. Very reasonably priced, owners very nice, rooms lovely, rooms cleaned daily, towels changed everyday, only 10/15 minutes walk from the town centre, harbour and Abbey. The only problem, we had was the bloody seagulls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was perfect for what we wanted.
Not to have the mad rush to get down to have breakfast.
The basket was compact and offered a selection to meet the needs of most.
Warm bread & boiled eggs. A selection of cereals with fresh chilled milk. A cute bag full of preserves, butter, individual cheeses. Fruit yogurt & a choice of fresh fruits. Your pots are retuned in the basket each day with a regular supply of toilet rolls (which is sometimes an issue in some hotels)
The house is full of character & is spotlessly clean.
Ged & Linda are so welcoming & hospitable. We loved it.
If you need it, to come back up the hill, there are regular buses that pass the house. They finish early but there is a good taxi service from the harbour.
Oh! Also in response to other comments. It can be noisy with the birds in the morning.
Remember you are at the SEASIDE.
Thank you Whitby. So much to see in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in 6 with a view of the Abbey at the back of the building which I think is quieter. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me and partner stayed for the night wanting a last minute visit to whitby. This guest house is ran by a lovely couple who are welcoming as soon as you step through the doors!

The rooms are well decorated and a great size. With only a 5 minute walk to the sea front it is in a perfect location. We didnt have breakfast although it did sound lovely and im sure it wouldn't of dissapointed us.

My only comment would be a shelf over the sink, cant remember the room number but it was on the top floor.

Thank you for making our trip to whitby so welcoming!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just got back from an excellent relaxing break here. The place was beautiful and just the peace and quiet I needed after a very busy year. Ged and Linda are perfect hosts, there if you need them and not if you don't. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean, roomy and extremely comfortable. The continental breakfast delivered to your door every morning was a bonus for me, I hate getting up early when i'm on holiday and never normally book breakfast when I'm away because of that but this was wonderful. There was so much food in my basket, it lasted me most of the day and there was plenty left over. The few minutes walk to the harbour and shops was just nice, close enough to be there in minutes but far enough to escape the hustle and bustle. I would definitely recommend Elford House and would love to go back there.

Room Tip: My room was room 9 on the front overlooking the road but the window stopped any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our room was fine -spacious and clean. Despite overlooking the main road, the windows were modern and so there was minimal noise from the traffic. We were disappointed by the breakfast -although I know the BandB was upfront about it being delivered to your room, it proved fiddly to eat (everything individually wrapped) and particularly difficult to manage using only the small coffee table available in the room. Also, the individual cereals offered were ones we don`t like to eat. The Breakfast "B" is important, and, on reflection, we should have realised this might be a problem.
Having said that, the property is well-positioned (we could walk into the centre in about 10 minutes), there was parking available, and all in all we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We decided after 16 years we deserved a break and Whitby had been somewhere I had always wanted to re-visit to get some Whitby Jet stone, we booked in for 4 nights at the Elford House the room was extremely clean at first the thought of a continental breakfast brought to the room wasnt something we would enjoy HOWEVER it was great the amount of food delivered could do you breakfast and lunch everything that should have been hot was. The first walk down to Whitby was a bit daunting but being walkers by the second time it wasnt a problem we would recommend staying at the Elford House to everyone. Thank you Linda and Ged you have a great place and if we were in Whitby again we would re-book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elford Guest House

Address: 10 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elford House is a beautiful, sympathetically-renovated Edwardian guest house ideally situated for those holiday makers seeking a base near the centre of Whitby with the beach, harbour, shops and all other local amenities just five minutes walk away. We have a private car park so you can park it up and forget about it until your holiday is over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Elford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elford Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.