We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitby's Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added New Anchorage Hotel to your Saves list
New Anchorage Hotel
3 Crescent Terrace | West Cliffe, Whitby YO21 3EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Whitby's Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Decided to go to Whitby last Sunday morning on a whim. Googled accommodation for Whitby on the way down and noticed a few properties that looked inviting. Made a note and decided to arrive at the door as it were and check to see if there was any availability for that evening, decided to check out The New Anchorage first as it looked really lovely from the outside. Mark answered the door with a smile and invited us upstairs to look at one of the rooms, he was in the process of cleaning the bathroom after the last guests. From walking into this lovely property I felt comfortable and was looking forward to staying, I must say we got a bit of a shock my partner and I because the room we were shown was absolutely amazing, overlooking the sea front from a huge bay window with two armchairs in it to enjoy the view, binoculars on the table awaiting our eager mitts. The furnishings and furniture are delightful and we instantly wanted to stay. The breakfast is included and is a definite must, your order this on the form provided the night before. It is brought up to your room on a tray on your requested time. We ordered quite an array of different things, full cooked breakfast, cereal, fresh fruit salad and toast and we were not disappointed, absolutely delish and plenty of it. Tea and coffee facilities in the room with tea pot provided so there is ample for your stay.

The bed was comfy and snug. February was cold and breezy but our room was toasty warm all night!. There are different themed rooms, ours was the French room, looking at the pictures online they all look lovely.

We were very lucky and had amazing weather on the Saturday with sunshine. Plenty of people about in Whitby even for the time of year. We did lots of walking and enjoyed a delish plate of fish, chips and mushy peas at the Trenchers, New Quay Road, highly recommended. (you cannot visit Whitby without having f & c can you?).

I cannot fault this little Gem of a place, New Anchorage, and wanted to share it with you, I for one cant wait to return :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
168
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Friendly welcome, beautiful room( the French one) with a fabulous bathroom. We had deep baths and enjoyed a delightful breakfast in our room. We loved sitting in the bay window watching the sea. Great for us as the dogs got to stay too.
Had a nice meal in a dog friendly pub and found a coffee shop with gorgeous cake.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 25th January for one night. We had a sea view room which was perfect, great size and comfortable. Room had everything you need including a fridge. Breakfast was delivered to your room, which again was fantastic. Good host, will be going back soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTEFRACT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

we stayed at this lovely hotel 17th 18th jan 2014 mick was very helpful and welcoming we stayed in French room 2 which was very large well decorated and very warm huge en suite with roll top bath and walk in shower we were shown other rooms and were all to high standard but when we no doubt return we will ask for room 2 with its large bay window and views of the bay we would recommend this hotel friends and family definately

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 which was perfect but all rooms large and to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

So Mr Jax isn't a big fan of the festive season but he managed to keep smiling through it because he knew . .. he was going back to his favourite weekend away place on the 27th Dec. Me, him and the dog were booked in for 2 nights between Xmas and New Year by way of a "calm after the storm" type time away. I booked well in advance this time to get the lovely French room on the first floor as it has such lovely big bay windows with an incredible view. We were surprised at how busy Whitby was so say it's winter. The dog got to run on the beach several times during our stay then it was back to the room to warm up and admire the view. People watching is such fun when you're that high up and they don't know they're being watched lol!!

Mick was as accommodating as ever from checking if we needed the hospitality tray refilling to carrying those gorgeous cooked breakfasts up the stairs. (This is our 2nd visit and we still haven't met Debbie but I am sure she works equally hard behind the scenes!!). We will be returning as we have decided this is THE place to stay when we fancy a few days away on the East coast.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth the extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This B&B was recommended by friends who have visited Whitby regularly the past few years. On arrival at the hotel, which was located right on the seafront, my wife and I were welcomed by Mick, a friendly and knowledgeable host and an ex Midlander who runs it with his wife Debbie. We were given room 8, also known as the Gothic room which was appropriately decorated, plus lots of gilt edged mirrors on the walls (were they aiming to ward off a visit from Dracula, we wondered?). Room 8 was almost at the top of the hotel, so there were lots of stairs to climb, but it turned out to be well worth it. The room was clean and very spacious with a beautiful sea view, enhanced by the thoughtful addition of a pair of binoculars on the windowsill. There was a large ensuite bathroom with rolled top free standing bath and separate shower. The room itself was well equipped with a large TV on the wall, plus kettle with tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and bottled water in the wine cooler. The double bed was pleasantly comfortable and there was ample wardrobe and drawer space. The only minor faults we found were i) the lamps by the side of the bed weren’t strong enough to provide a good light for reading in bed, ii) one side of the bed had no bedside cabinet and iii) there was no bath mat to step onto after showering or bathing. Each morning, a delicious full cooked breakfast, complete with a large bowl of delicious fresh fruit, was carried up to our room by the obliging (and presumably very fit) Mick at a time specified by us, which we ate at the small table next to the window looking out onto the ocean. There was parking available directly outside the hotel (free during winter months) and the location was excellent - just 100 yards from the famous whale bones overlooking the harbour, and then a ten minute downhill stroll to the town, past lovely quaint cottages leading onto a variety of pubs, restaurants and shops. Overall, we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and would happily stay there again, hopefully for longer next time. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the New Anchorage for New Years Eve 1 night - the room was very large and comfortable, well equiped with everything we needed. The owners were very friendly and were very welcoming. We booked this last minute but would definatley return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Anchorage Hotel

Address: 3 Crescent Terrace | West Cliffe, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your New Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Anchorage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.