We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holmleigh Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmleigh Guest House
Save
You added Holmleigh Guest House to your Saves list
6 Prospect Hill, Whitby, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Lovely, traditional B&B. Nice big, clean room in a friendly house, run by a welcoming couple who work hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Free parking and only 5 mins walk to the town centre.
See you again when the weather gets better!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Stayed for a 2 night break

A nice little B&B in Whitby. Clean rooms that could do with some updating. Small carpark at the front of the property.

The B&B is situated about a 10 min walk from the seafront but when you are walking back it is up a long hill.

On the whole the room was clean and the breakfast was good.

The hosts were both helpful and very chatty - If you like that.

I would recommend a visit to Robin Hood Bay and a trip to Staithes - Both very nice!!!!!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Rooms need updating
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

Only stayed in Whitby for a night, but had a great stay. Clean rooms, private parking and the best breakfast you could wish for. Excellent hosts, friendly and knowlegdable about the local area. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOCKPORT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We have visited Whitby on many occasions but only for a day trip. This time we stayed for a couple of nights to celebrate my birthday and we decided to stay at Holmleigh B&B. Well what more can I say.........Kev & Carol are smashing hosts they made you feel welcome from start to finish. The breakfast Carol cooks is just amazing...the best start to anyone's day. Kevin is a true gent and if you need any info on Whitby he's the man to ask. The B&B is strictly NON SMOKING!!! and for me this is a great plus. Parking is a nightmare in Whitby as anybody who as ever visited before will know, but the B&B's location is ideal with plenty of parking and only 5 minutes walk into Whitby. I would also like to recommend a couple of places to eat when in Whitby....If you don't mind paying £10 for Fish 'N' Chips and waiting for 45 mins then visit the Magpie cafe. I would recomend any of the chippies along the harbour as the fish is always fresh that day so you can't go wrong. We actually ate at the Quayside resturant and wasn't dissapointed the portions are great and the batter is the best I've tasted. Also I would recomend an Indian called the passage to India this is located accross the road from the train station...you will not be dissapointed truely a great Indian. The best pub we found was the Station great Real Ales.......a choice of about 7 or 8 well worth trying them all. Thanks again to Kev & Carol what hosts!! will be back again keep up the good work!

  • Liked — The location and Kev & Carol
  • Disliked — Liked everything.......nothing to not like
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Stayed for a 2 night break. The first thing that you notice is how friendly Kev and Carol are, you just warm to them straight away, and you know you've struck gold.

The highlights for me: Kev and Carol. The whole place is immaculately presented and maintained. The breakfast is superb. Good sized en-suite rooms. Private car parking (a bonus in Whitby).

You'd be daft not to stay here!!

  • Liked — Kev and Carol
  • Disliked — Busy road outside was noisy at night with the windows open
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

We stayed one night at this bed and breakfast and were very pleased. It was reasonably priced at only £55. Very clean with a private car park. Kev and Carol were the perfect hosts. While Carol cooked a wonderful full English breakfast for us, Kev chatted with us and provided us with brochures and info for all of the places we were going to visit that day. They are only a 5-10 minute walk into Whitby center - a charming adorable fishing village (turned out to be one of my favorite places in England).

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Spotless and extremely friendly B&B in a lovely house just up the hill from the centre of Whitby in a nice peaceful area.

I could not imagine more delightful hosts than Kev and Carol. Both are more than willing to share their local knowledge and humour. Carol's breakfasts are superb.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and pleasantly furnished. Well-supplied tea tray was appreciated. The value of being able to park your car where you are staying is not to be underestimated in Whitby.

Best place to stay and much the best value of our trip to N Yorks.

Our biggest mistake was to stay only 2 nights.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean, comfortable in a home-away-from-home way
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmleigh Guest House

Address: 6 Prospect Hill, Whitby, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmleigh Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.