We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B and B we've ever stayed in!! 5 out of 5 bats!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bats and Broomsticks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bats and Broomsticks to your Saves list
Bats and Broomsticks
11 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Catterick Garrison
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B and B we've ever stayed in!! 5 out of 5 bats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Kev and Tish the owners of the lovely Bats and Broomsticks we're very lovely and accommodating. They helped us to get from the train station to the B and B, gave us a list of a dog friendly restaurants and even had a dog dish in the room for our dog Ralphey. The gothic B and B was like a home away from home fangtastically decorated! The breakfast was amazing! We wouldn't be able to stay anywhere else in Whitby now that we've stayed here. We stayed in the Dracula room and it was absoloutely perfect it's very spacious lavishly decorated the bat hanging from the bed was my personal favorite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
105
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Not much to say that hasn't been said ! From check in to check out everything was first class. We will be back.One problem was we didn't get to use our Vampire staking kit as we missed out seeing Dracula. Solar room was very nice comfortable bed and excellent facilities. We did see Dracula albeit on DVD from the massive collection.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Brilliant B & B, if you are looking for a Goth experience, you have to come here. Rooms and dining room are fantastic as is the service. The breakfast is to die for!! We really enjoyed our time here and will be back :-D.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
626 helpful votes 626 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was the third time we've stayed at Bats & Broomsticks over the years. We've had the same room each time, and it's changed slightly each time, with new décor and little touches adding to the haunting atmosphere - the coffin shaped sofa is quite a feature. We had our own spacious bathroom, and, given the wild January weather, the place was toasty and warm.

As always, Kev was the perfect host, ensuring we had everything we needed and serving up a hearty vegetarian breakfast in the morning, with some cracking tunes on the stereo to boot. We made ourselves very comfortable in 'Luna', even borrowing a Hammer DVD from the selection in the hall to watch once back from the pub.

Everything was spotlessly clean and we wanted for nothing - even having the security of a vampire slaying kit in the wardrobe (for emergencies only, of course). Thoroughly recommend this B&B, it's only a ten minute walk into town and there's room to park outside. It's easy to find and beautifully put together.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in addition to 2 other locations during our trip to Yorkshire. For me, this was the best stay. It's probably not for all, but because of it's niche appeal, it does what it's meant to do very well indeed.

I enjoyed it much more than staying in a blank, white standard hotel room. Hosting abilities were top notch: we were greeted with a full tour and given access to a wide array of 'spooky' movies and books, which was good for us, considering we were tired from all the walking, haha!

The room itself was flawless and with a strong theme (we stayed in the solar room) for added uniqueness.

I'd heard good things about the breakfast already so my hopes were high, though I was still surprised by the quality of it. I don't want to give too much away but think 'a candlelit breakfast on a large table with a very generous, perfectly cooked English breakfast'.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had an amazing stay at Bats and really cant wait to go back. The fabuloius breakfast kept us going all day and Kev was so friendly and knowledgeable that we simply cant find fault with anything. It is unique and quirky and very clean, loved the candlelit breakfast and rocking out to an eclectic taste in music. Memorable. Will be back very soon. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here once before and loved it, so this year, I arranged to take my mum (88) for a short break, due to work commitments I could not go so her friend went with her. I was a little apprehensive bit they had a wonderful time, the excellent breakfast from Tish set them up for the day and Kev was kindness itself, helping them get around as I was not there to drive. The lovely couple who run this place are so hospitable and nothing is too much trouble, my partner and I stayed last month with our dogs and again had a blissful stay, I would not hesitate to recommend Bats to anyone and look forward to going back for many years, Thank you Tish & Kev, we love staying at Bats & Bromsticks

Room Tip: All of them are an experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bats and Broomsticks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bats and Broomsticks

Address: 11 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bats and Broomsticks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bats And Broomsticks Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bats and Broomsticks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.