We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my experience at the resolution hotel whitby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Resolution Hotel to your Saves list
Resolution Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“my experience at the resolution hotel whitby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

really good hotel really friendly staff ate in the bar and the food was excellent had the local fish and chips and was homemade it was lovely and fresh , would stay again was good value for money specially the bar meals only drawback was the car park we stayed in which wasnt part of the hotel it didnt look very secure and was a bit of a dump for £5 a night

Room Tip: room was quiet no complaints there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    179
    95
    34
    27
See reviews for
53
274
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend break and was impressed by the price in relation to position in the town. Staff were helpful and polite, the room was small but perfectly appointed with everything we needed. The breakfast was as good as any we'd had in a boutique hotel recently. Will definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked for my parents to stay for 2 nights for a 60th birthday and combined wedding anniversary gift at the Resolution. I booked via Groupon as the offer was good value. My parents arrived and were taken up to their room which wasn't the greatest of rooms as no view. My mum went down to Reception to ask if it was possible to move and the small fry kid that she spoke to said "well what do you expect for the money you've paid for this booking?!" My mum said whether it was discounted or not they would still like to be moved. They were moved to a bigger room with a lovely bathroom but quite tired bedroom which seemed strange as the bathroom had be updated. The bed didn't have a valance on it or headboard and no mattress or pillow protectors - these cost a few pounds each to buy!! My mum slept on top of duvet cover for whole stay. Both looked forward to breakfast and again this was a let down. All in all, Whitby is a fantastic place to stay but The Resolution needs to up its game.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights on June 21st and 22nd we travel a lot and this was one of the most straight forward stays we had. The rooms we nice, staff friendly and breakfast very good. We also dined at the vault there restaurant which was fantastic , we will defiantly be back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed for a 2 night weekend break, difficult to find the location of the reception desk but not much of an issue, we were given room 103, Well to say this room was dated would be an understatement, very old furniture, bed held together with large metal brackets, the slightest movement made more creaking noises that you can imagine, Curtain pole held together with tape, the curtains at the window were a natural, transparent type so come 5.30am we were awake, The shower was poor, it leaked all over the bathroom floor and the holder for the shower head didn't fit it properly so it had to be hand held.
we complained, and were advised that the hotel was full for Saturday but we could be moved on sunday, we were given a 3rd floor room which was a big improvement on the old one but still looked as though the decoration had been hurried through and was not expertly done, no decorations on the wall, no stool at the dressing table or mirror or plug socket for hair straightners etc
no shelf in the bathroom, little space for belongings
The breakfast was quite cold, it tasted as if it is all cooked early on and then left warm.

Overall it was OK but I think it is extremely over priced, for £90 per night I expect a lot more bells and whistles, this was a budget hotel that charge more because it is close to the centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here twice before. Service was superb. Booking over the phone with Sam was straight forward. E mail from hotel extended a welcome prior to arrival.
Room 209 was lean and newly painted. Nice simple, tasteful furniture.
Location and price all good we used a groupon voucher £59 got dour room with a bottle of wine including breakfast. Unfortunately weedy before breakfast to continue our journey. Just a stop over for us.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We staged for 3 nights in June. On arrival we found a strong odour in the reception area, we ignored this and proceeded to our room. The room 208 was a decent size with a nice view of the abbey. The furnishing were of a decent standard but there was little things that made it look substandard like the tap fittings were loose on the sink, or all the fitting were chrome except copper pipe the fed the toilet cistern or the shower screen was too small and the floor got a good soaking every time you showered. Not major issues I suppose but when you pay over £400 for 3 nights I'd expect better? The breakfast was ok but certainly nothing special first day under cooked and last day over cooked. 2nd day about ok. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel as I feel it's overpriced. But if you can get it on a deal like group on do,as in at most £80 a night then go for it as the location is good and all the staff are pleasant enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resolution Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.