We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic seaview” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeldale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wheeldale Hotel to your Saves list
Wheeldale Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic seaview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, It is a decent little place, and you get a full English breakfast. The room size was good with on-suite and a great seaview. The car park is tiny, luckily we stayed there out of season, so there were no probem parking.
Would reccomend for a weekend, or someone travelling around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    58
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
150
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My partner and I decided to stay over night in Whitby and called in to see if there were any rooms with a sea view, there was one room left for £75.00 which we thought expensive but as it was a 4* accommodation didnt worry or ask to look at the room before hand. Our room turned out to be a smallish room with the wash basin next to the bed, the shower cubicle and toilet (which smelt faintly of urine) in a cupboard, no sky tv, no complimentary biscuits and a window which was filthy and covered in mould on the surround seal when it was open. Breakfast was fast! We came down at 8 45am and was quickly served but also the lady serving was cleaning the other tables fervently around us and brushing and shaking crumbs in our direction. We ate as much as we could of the under cooked eggs and bacon, watery mushrooms, bullet like beans and boiled tomato, which wasnt much and left. We couldnt park in the courtyard as there wasnt any room and was actually asked to remove our car in order to let customers who were staying for 2 nights the remaining spot!! We ended up parking on the road 150 yards away!! The only good thing about this guest house was the sea view. We would NOT recommend it to our family or friends. Always check your room in any accommodation before paying. We will from now on.

Room Tip: Dont
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

My partner booked this hotel as a surprise birthday getaway following the reviews we found on here and we were not disappointed. On first impression the views from the hotel were amazing and parking was easy to acquire, up to 8 spaces off-street and plenty on street.

We booked room number 8 primarily for the view and the modern feel. The double bed was very comfy and there were plenty of wardrobe space to hang your clothes and the bathroom was particularly nice due to the large shower and ample space to get ready. The TV mounted on the wall, which could be viewed from the 2 chairs either side of the bed or lying on the bed, I preferred the latter. Sky TV was included with plenty of channel choices ( Movies & Sport Included) this was a god send when waiting for your other half to get ready.

In terms of the location, the beach front is on your doorstep and it was roughly a 5-10 minute walk to the Whale Bone Arch. I liked the quiet walk from the hotel to the centre as there were different routes, you could either go along the main road or walk down the footpath and along the beach.

There was excellent polite service at breakfast. You have the choice of either a full English breakfast or customised to whatever you prefer. Plenty of toast and as much jam, marmalade and honey you could imagine. Tea, coffee and fruit juice were available with cereals, grapefruit and yoghurts which were help yourself.

As the previous review states that they found the breakfast tasteless, in my opinion they couldn't be more wrong. The sausage and bacon was very good quality, as their website states they use a local butchers to supply meat. The sausage was made with herbs this accounts for the previous review, I thought it was very tasty and enjoyed it thoroughly. The tomatoes were grilled and the eggs could be cooked however you preferred them i.e. scrambled etc.

What i liked best about this hotel was the welcoming atmosphere, the beautiful breakfast and the great quiet location. The only criticism I can find is that for people who are not as good on their feet as me could find it difficult with the slightly longer walk into town.

All in All, excellent hotel, I would definitely recommend this to a friend and will be coming back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed for three days in no 6 room which is split in to two rooms one being upstairs to the attic room.There was a lovely 37 inch tv in this room, unfortunatly the armchairs were made of PVC which you generally slipped of the edge onto the floor.
In general the rooms were kept clean and tidy. the towels were a bit hard.
The breakfast was pretty tastless, even the bacon was like eating cardboard, the tomatoes were cooked in the oven and tasted as if they were stewed, as did the musrooms. The fried eggs always came out hard unless you requested otherwise. the sausage was not to my liking, although they might be an aquried taste?On a bright note they always gave generous helpings.The owners were nice enough, but I look forward to a cooked breakfast when on holiday, and this place did not do it for me. Location was faultless.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

we telephoned this b n b and when we arrived we were not dissapointed great views from the room and a very warm welcome .. we will be returning

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Excellent hotel, staff made you feel very welcome the rooms were very comfortable and
the views supberb. Food excellent and would very much stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

My partner treated me to a surprise weekend in Whitby for my birthday and we stayed here. It was lovely and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely room with everything we needed. The bathroom was very small but it wasn't a problem for a weekend.

A nice touch was the drinks in the lounge available to purchase on an honesty basis.

The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.

Would definitely recommend and will stay here again.

For a lovely local restaurant try Number 4 just around the corner

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeldale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldale Hotel

Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wheeldale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeldale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.