We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commanding views over Whitby and up and down the coast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitby Abbey

Whitby Abbey
Whitby, England, Whitby, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 17 Attractions in Whitby
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Commanding views over Whitby and up and down the coast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The long climb up the seemingly interminable steps to the Abbey will reward yoiu with breathtaking views of the picturesque town of Whitby, its Marina and Harbour as well as down to Robin Hood's Bay and up towards Sandsend and Runswick Bay. Also part ofthe Cleveland Way walk

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    457
    119
    33
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great tourist spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The only let down is that food is only served in cafe between 12-2 we got there at 2.04 and were turned away! Fantastic Dracula play!! definite "must see"

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Abbey was wonderful - but facilities were very poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

You can't fault the Abbey and the atmosphere, the play was fun and we were pleased we caught it. The shop was great ... well stocked and staff were a pleasure. However, the tea rooms and toilets were shockingly bad and although run by YHA, English Heritage should be ashamed to associate themselves with them.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Part of a day in Whitby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

You can't really miss the Abby as it rises up from the hillside in Whitby. We decided to walk from the town centre up the 190+ steps to the top. It was a very hot day and quite hard going especially if you are not fit! Worth the effort but I think I would get the bus next time! Good to get away from the ice cream and fish and chips and take in some history!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Superb ruin of a historic abbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you are visiting Whitby, the abbey is not to be missed. It's truly a mysterious building with a rich and varied past. There is also an adjoining museum which is equally good - very informative with an audio accompaniment which we found extremely useful. We also recommend parking your car in the town car park and walking up the 190 or so steps to the abbey - the views of the town and the North Sea are just as spectacular.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitby Abbey also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Whitby Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitby Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.