We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst food in Whitby” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bagdale | North Yorkshire, Whitby YO21 1QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst food in Whitby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Having spent the week in Whitby (not staying at Bagdale Hall), we decided that we would go on the final night of our holiday for a "special" meal. The building looked very interesting and so we booked a table for Saturday evening. On our arrival we were sent into the lounge area where we were the only people. We were given menus to browse. Another 2 couples came in who were also given menus. Soon afterwards, the other couples' orders were taken even though they arrived after us. Ok, no problem, we were not in a hurry. Eventually, we ordered our food and wine. My husband ordered crab cakes for starters and we both ordered the roast lamb to be washed down with an Australian reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2004. We were shown to our table and brought a selection of breads (nice touch) and a bottle of wine which we poured whilst waiting for the starter. We then noticed that it was the wrong wine (a French Merlot) and asked the waitress to bring the wine we ordered. Another bottle was brought which was blend of different grapes, not a reserve. We did not notice this until we had started drinking it, not thinking that they would make the same mistake twice. Not wanting to make a fuss, we kept it. When the food arrived, the crab cakes were dry and tasteless with little evidence of any crab. The lamb was horrendous. It was so hard and chewy that it was inedible, so we just ate our vegetables. The plates were swimming in far too much gravy and on the plate in the gravy was a soggy sprig of watercress and a tiny cherry tomato. Completely out of place on a roast dish. Not at any time did the waitress come and ask if our meal was ok, so I guess they know that the food is crap.
It turned out that the inferior bottle of wine was charged at the same price as the one we originally ordered. The food was very expensive with the grotty crabcakes costing £6.50 and the roast lamb £15.90 (each). We were extremely disappointed as we were expecting a high class of food and service, but received neither. This was the worst food and service that we had all week and would never recommend this resaurant to anyone, ever.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    109
    34
    19
    24
See reviews for
26
266
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
burton on trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Fantastic stay.Staff great.furnishings and decor a bit faded but adds to charm. Great breakfast but missed the haggis.Warm spacious rooms.Overall good hotel. Did not eat in restaurant as boys found good indian restaurant in walking distance. would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We went and had our christmas meal at Bagdale hall, what can I say but wonderful. £130.00 for the both of us wine and drinks extra but the food was to die for and the staff very friendly and helpful.

My husband and I will be staying there in February for a couple of days, and we were shown a room similar to the one we will be staying at and it looked fab.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

This was our first trip to whitby and what a brilliant weekend we had! Bagdale Hall should have top spot on trip advisor!
The place was warm, inviting and very oldy worldy, just what we were looking for.
The staff couldn't have done any more for us if they tried (especially Alison)!!
The weather was absolutely horrendous, but this didn't bother us as we had such a good time at Bagdale Hall.
Thank you everyone, we'll be seeing you again soon!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We stayed here for two nights, 15/16 November 2009. All I can say is Wow!

Our room was fabulous, it was a suite in the Bagdale Hall Building, and was awesome - The suite was more than our expectations of a room with a bed and a sofa and a TV - but when we opened the door to a huge room with a superkingsize bed, a sumptious leather suite, wardrobe and dressing table and a proper hairdryer, TV and tea/coffee facilites and an ample en-suite, Not to mention the fabulous characteristic fire place, we were both speechless!

The hotel is really characteristic, with a traditional and warm feeling to it! We found it clean and well kept, with great attention to detail.

We found the staff helpful and accommodating - it was my partners birthday during our stay and I requested a surprise bottle of wine be put in our room while we were out, the member of staff who I asked sorted it out for me - even checking what time we were leaving the hotel and how long we anticipated being out for.

Breakfast in the Restaurant was beautiful and plentiful, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were efficient and unobtrusive.

We booked this hotel after finding it on A Haunted Hotels website; both being open minded to the paranoral - while we didn't feel we 'experienced' anything during our stay, there was a surprise for us on our photo's! When we uploaded the digital images there are 3 photo's taken within a couple of minutes of each other in the same parts of the room, that seem to show 'orbs' in various sizes, brightness and places on the photo's, no other photo's of the weekend show anything of the sort!

Is it haunted - I don't know - see what you think!?!?!?

If I had to mention a down side it would be the sound of traffic in the morning, as the hotel is situated on a busy road, although we live in a quiet area so are probably more sensitive to the sound of traffic than others may be. This in no way detracted from our stay.

We would definitley stay here again - in fact we are planning another trip later in the year, it is a superb hotel, with fabulous staff, and is in a great location about 5 minutes walk from the harbour!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

If you ever wish to stay at a place which epitomises,cleanliness,fanatastic food,good service and historical connections,just up from the harbour,stay here.
We were in the Lodge.100 metres from the Old Hall,beautiful room,parking just outside room,but what a breakfast.Eaten in the Old Hall Restaurant without doubt was the most comprehensive breakfast menus we have ever seen

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We have just come back from an excellent stay at Bagdale Hall. The staff that we met were all lovely without exception and their pleasure was to ensure that you had a fabulous stay. Nothing was too much trouble and all were very approachable if we needed anything or wanted to query anything - what a pleasant change to some places we've been. We found the room and public areas clean and well maintained with charm and character in abundance. The food was first class with the breakfast being extremely generous. Had the best homemade steak pie and beef wellington that we have ever had. Location was fantastic with a two minute walk into town or to the marina. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 1 Bagdale | North Yorkshire, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.