We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant. Nothing bad to say at all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lythe Caravan & Camping Park

Lythe Caravan & Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lythe Caravan & Camping Park
Save
You added Lythe Caravan & Camping Park to your Saves list
The Stiddy, High Street, Whitby YO21 3RT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant. Nothing bad to say at all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were a group of 8 females (30's and 40's) - we work together and have a weekend away every now and again. We stayed in 3 of the 4 pods. The pods were fantastic - very substantial, cosy and light. This was definitely glamping!! Loved every minute of it. We had fab weather but the pods would still be brilliantly cosy in bad weather. The campsite itself has very clean facilities, the shower and toilet block was spotless at all times. Great views from the site. About 4 miles from Whitby (a tenner in a taxi and closer to Sandsend). Lovely little country pub on site that serves evening meals. you can hire a fire pit, complete with wood, for £15 for the night. Very friendly site managers. Would definitely recommend this and we plan to go back again very soon.

Room Tip: if you are staying in one of the pods it doesn't matter which you choose. the site is small so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a pod. It was just as the web site descirbed and was a perfect introduction to camping for our 7 year old. The toliet block was really clean, the warden was very welcoming. Sandsend beach was a lovely find - perfect for children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stopped for 2 nights with my wife and son. It was a quiet site with a clean shower block and toilets. The shower was powerful with plenty of warm water. There was no extra charge for the electrical hook-up or showers. A mile from Sandsend and 4 miles from Whitby.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a very enjoyable three nights on the camp. All the facilities were clean and well maintained. The site owner runs The Stiddy pub, which is 100 yards up the lane, and the locals were very friendly, too! The site manager helped us out with a longer hook-up as our pitch was too far away for ours to reach, and although our pitch was on a bit of a slope, it didn't prove problematic. The pods look lovely...might have to book one in the future, particularly useful when the weather isn't so great!
Very reasonable, and a lovely bit of the country to explore!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Really Nice site, clean and modern ameneties. The washroom (with washer sink etc) and shower blocks were really good for a camp of this size. Managed to squeeze us in at the last minute. The site is quite small, but we had plenty of room on our pitch for the car and tent and to spead out too. Very reasonable price, great value for money. We paid £12 for a 2 man tent with a £2 booking fee for 1 night. Surrounding countryside and villages are really nice with loads to do, theres a pub on site too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights here in our own caravan. It was my first experience on a camp site. The site is in a beautiful location near the coast with some fantastic neighbouring towns, Sandsend, Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay to name a few. The shower blocks are new and cleaned regularly. The site is very small but clean with very friendly owners. The site welcomes pets and there are plenty of places to walk the dog nearby. The pub is a couple of minutes walk and is very nice, they also welcome dogs. We were very sad to leave and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great place,spend 4 days here leaving fri 9th of Aug. Nice campsite,very tidy and clean. Shower & toilet block excellent, very clean and the showers are free. You also get music in the shower block. There is a disabled toilet on site,and a washer and dryer room too. They have camp pods if you dont fancy taking your tent. Site opens most the year. I would maybe suggest a small fridge freezer in the laundry room so people can keep food chilled or refreeze freezer blocks. (Just an idea guys :-) There is a pub next to the site that does very good food at reasonable prices. Also near the site is a small shop. I would recommend this site,and hoping to return in the near future to maybe try a pod.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lythe Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Caravan & Camping Park

Address: The Stiddy, High Street, Whitby YO21 3RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lythe Caravan & Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.