We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Fantastic Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mainstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mainstay
26 Windsor Terrace, Whitby YO21 1ET, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE ON-SITE CAR PARKING
Ranked #2 of 143 Whitby B&B and Inns
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have just had the most wonderful 2 day break at The Mainstay and all I can say is what an amazing find, the standard of accommodation is extremely high and the welcome received from Julie and Peter warm and welcoming. I don't think I've ever stayed in such a more central Bed and Breakfast in Whitby, the Breakfast was a feast and or course the car parking such a rare find. I can't recommend this property enough, don't miss out, you won't be disappointed,

Room Tip: Book the suite room and treat yourself, you won't regret it, it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
137
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

we booked in on 24-25 nov 2012 cant not fault anythink about mainstay peter & julie are great host offer very high standard of luxury going back easter 2013 cant wait to go back with sylvia . The place is just so beautiful it is You need to book and Go to mainstay you wont be let down. allso told us where to eat out at just brill

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked off the internet mainly on the quality of the reviews and it lived up to everything everyone has written about this remarkable gem in Whitby. Cannot fault anything. Peter & Julie are the perfect hosts and offer a very high standard of accommodation and service as might be expected from more expensive establishments. All topped off by kippers on Sunday morning!!.
PERFECT.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked our stay on line without recommendation.

On arrival we found ourselves smack in the centre of Whitby with on site free parking included in the price. Although the hotel is centrally located we found it quiet and relaxing.

We were greeted by Peter and Julie on arrival and given the tour of our facilities for the duration of our stay. We were bowled over by the modern light eating area and the exceedingly high standard/choice of menu, but the best thing about breakfast was the fact that you were not tied to set serving times. All the food served is locally sourced and of the highest quality in cluding the mackeral that Peter never shuts up about lol.

We stayed in room 2 on the first floor and found it of the highest standard in furnishings, cleanliness and very welcoming.

We can only say that we found the attention to detail and the welcome extended by Peter and Julie of the warmest nature and would recommend this venue for anyone seeking a relaxing and peaceful venue close to all the facilities that Whitby offers.

We will return and recommend without hesitation that you treat yourself to the beautiful oasis that is The Mainstay.

Sandra and David (Sheffield).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights for my partners Birthday. We had the top floor room which was beautiful the bed was so comfortable. The cleanliness of the establishment is second to none. The food was of excellent quality and well cooked and presented. But the best things of all were Julie and Pete who are wonderful hosts. This will be the only place we will stay when we visit Whitby from now on.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A last minute stay and one we are keen to repeat. The Mainstay is absolutely fabulous and should not be missed. Julie and Pete were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble. It was thanks to them that we had a lovely food and alcohol filled evening at the Marine Restaurant so listen to their recommendations, they know what they are talking about!!! Our room was sumptuous and luxurious leading us to complete and utter house envy! With their own parking and an excellent spot in the town what is there to fault? On our next visit, and there WILL be one, The only problem will be choosing which room as they were all so lovely.
Only open since June of this year, Julie and Pete have done an outstanding job!

Room Tip: Any of them as they are all so good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Second time we have stayed with Julie and Peter and it was just as good. Lovely rooms, excellent welcome and superb breakfast yet again.
The attention to detail in the furnishings in the room is excellent. The rooms are also very comfortable, excellent nights sleep.
Breakfast quality and choice is very good , can particularly recommend Julie's homemade rhubarb compote!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mainstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mainstay

Address: 26 Windsor Terrace, Whitby YO21 1ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mainstay, Whitby's most unique luxury boutique bed and breakfast situated in the heart of town. Unwind in luxurious surroundings, beautiful bedrooms individually designed for total relaxation and comfort, contemporary travertine en-suites and all the little things that will make your stay with us very special. Only the best of yorkshire ingredients are used in our delicious breakfasts, freshly cooked to order using home grown seasonal produce from the garden and mouthwatering award winning products from local butchers and fish suppliers. We offer onsite secure parking and great hospitality, a warm and friendly welcome awaits you, come and enjoy a well deserved break, your sure to feel right at home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mainstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mainstay to your Saves list