We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality and value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bramblewick Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bramblewick Guest House
Save
You added Bramblewick Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just returned home and cannot speak highly enough of Sue and Dave and their guest house. The first impression is great with the numerous hanging baskets making the entrance bright and welcoming. We had room 1 described as a "superior" and quite rightly too. The spotless bathroom would put many top class hotels to shame with new quality fixtures and fittings with extra touches such as shower gel and shampoo in abundance. The bedroom was also spotless as well as large, warm with a comfy bed and chairs to read and have a brew.
Breakfast was even better. Fruit salad, cereals, juices, numerous jams, marmalades, served with crusty bread. Followed by a full breakfast or kippers. All washed down with filter coffee or a choice of over ten flavoured teas.
But the best part is the price. Pay for three nights bed and breakfast and the 4th is free. Making it Less than £60 a night. Without doubt, excellent quality and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have visited Whitby many times in the past few years and Bramblewick Guest House is the best place to stay. Situated within easy reach of the harbour area, Sue and Dave are the perfect hosts, the rooms are spotless and the breakfast varied and plentiful. This time we were in Room 7 which has a spectacular view over the roof tops towards the Abbey. For a warm welcome look no further than Bramblewick. We will certainly be back. Maureen, Geoff & Alex

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited in Feb 2013 (sorry for delay in reviewing!) - we love Whitby & this guest house is perfectly situated; bars, restaurants, beach, shopping all nearby. Sue & Dave are so welcoming & approachable, nothing was too much trouble. On arrival the guest house stood out with hanging baskets & pots, Spotlessly clean, room & bed v comfortable with lots of extra touches, plenty of info available on places to visit. Breakfast was excellent, so much choice & cooked to perfection. Nice to be able to park directly outside guest house. Came back late from the pub on a freezing cold February night, nice to be able to relax in warm room, with tea, biscuits & tv! Will def be back, hopefully this autumn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sue and Dave the owners are very nice people lovely Breakfast and they where very welcoming and nice and they are perfect hosts. Rooms where cleaned everyday and they where spotless every day and the biscuits in the room everyday was very nice and Bramblewick is in the perfect spot because about 400 yrds down the road there is a beach and the over way there are shops and a newsagent and also its has easy access to the middle of town stayed in Room 5 (Single) which was lovely my parents where in Room 7 (At The Top of the Building) lovely views you can even see the Abbey the room is called "Abbeyview" and at Breakfast there is a lot of choices you can have even a Full English and there is also ...... Beans On Toast

Room Tip: You should go in The Abbeyview due to lovely views also called Room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week in Whitby. Bramblewick was the perfect place to stay. From the minute we arrived and saw the beautiful frontage, ample pots of flowers in full bloom, we knew we were on to a winner. The owners, Dave and Sue, were very welcoming and helpful. This was our first time in Whitby and they had lots of helpful suggestions about places to visits and restaurants to try out. The location of Bramblewick is ideal, central to the town and beach but situated on a quite street. The Guest house is pristine, a beautiful breakfast area and lounge. The rooms are spotless and comfortable with lots of little extra touches. I can honestly say the breakfasts are the best we've ever had. An excellent breakfast menu, with different things to try out such as Whitby kippers. There is also lots of extras too: toast, fresh fruit, cereal and ample tea and coffee - it certainly set us up for the day.
We had a lovely time, Whitby and the surrounding area is gorgeous, made all the better by our stay at this lovely guesthouse.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have an excellent view of Whitby Abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Dave and Sue the owners were extremely helpful and the perfect hosts. The rooms were spotlessly clean and a good size, the bed was very comfy and there was everything you could need - tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, toiletries etc. Extensive choice of breakfast including fresh fruit salad, cereals, home made muesli. The full English was cooked to perfection - compliments to the chef. Sue was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. She was very friendly and helped guests when deciding on places to visit etc. Location central within easy access to everything you would need. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Dave and Sue are the perfect hosts for this b&b in the heart of Whitby. The rooms are clean and well furnished, the breakfasts are cooked to perfection and there is a good range to set you up for the day, with delicious fresh fruit salad and home made muesli to tuck into before the hearty cooked breakfast and as much toast as you want. The rooms have bowls with lots of tea and coffee, bathrooms with dispensers and even earplugs and cotton buds if you forget to bring your toiletries! Everything is designed to make your stay a pleasant one, the beds are comfortable with duvets to suit the weather, wifi and tv's with dvd players in some of the rooms even! The rooms are modern and a good size and the bathrooms have huge shower cubicles. There is nothing that Dave and Sue haven't thought of to make it home from home and your stay in Whitby a truly memorable one! Highly recommended! Will definitely be returning soon :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bramblewick Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramblewick Guest House

Address: 3 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — Bramblewick Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bramblewick Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.