We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little tea rooms plus reasonably priced arts and crafts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shepherd's Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm

Shepherd's Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm
Lealholm | Lealholm, Whitby, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 166 restaurants in Whitby
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Shepherds Hall was built in 1873 and was a meeting place for the Loyal Order of Ancient Shepherds. It is now a fabulous tea rooms, craft gallery and has a lovely tea garden along with ample free parking. A lovely relaxed atmosphere, home baking and food prepared using local produce where possible make this a must to visit. Our craft gallery has unique items and gifts, many of them Fair Trade or British made, along with vintage china for sale.Lealholm is a traditional village, a popular tourist destination surrounded by beautiful heather moors crossed with miles of footpaths and bridleways. There are plenty of things to see including the stepping stones across the River Esk which are not far from Shepherds Hall.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely little tea rooms plus reasonably priced arts and crafts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

smashing lattes and peppermint tea. chose a plate share of cakes that came in at 4.80, five pieces of cake , exceptional value and absolutely gorgeous. had a little shop while digesting cakes, some exquisite items for sale and reasonably priced. walked out with a full belly and a plant stand....
then pop along the road to a sweet little nursery.
p.s. steep steps

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    34
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Mind the steps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited Shepherd's Hall Tea Rooms after reading the comments on tripadvisor.
We first were surprised by the very steep steps into the building & a few inside.Guess you would expect it being an old building but old & disabled be aware.
My husband ordered pie & peas which he said were tasty but for £4.80 you would expect more for your money.I had a sausage roll which was also ok.
My husband had crumble & I had chocolate cake was a bit bland.
We quite enjoyed it there but would not return,especially as we have such a great choice of other places in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a splendid place. A most interesting building houses a great place to eat. Fresh,home cooked food at reasonable prices served by lovely people. They also sell brick a brack and antiques at good prices. Totally splendid.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply a lovely place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Delicious scones and a cracking cup of tea. I have two sets of American cousins visiting this year and will take them here without a shadow of a doubt. A nice place to visit as the vintage items to buy are interesting and the staff are SO NICE!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitby
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a delightful afternoon tea party to celebrate my mother in laws 70th birthday, it was truely lovely. Evertything from the food, service, place setting were all great. The sandwiches were so fresh and lots of different fillings and the homemade cakes had us all loosening our belts !! So nice t be served prpoer cream rather than the squirty, tastless stuff. Will certainly go back and have already reccommended it to a friend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepherd's Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Shepherd's Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shepherd's Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.