We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday carvery is a must!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bull Pub

Black Bull Pub
Postgate Way | Ugthorpe, Whitby YO21 2BQ, England
01947 840286
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 166 restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“sunday carvery is a must!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

visited this welcoming and friendly family run pub on many occasions..and its never let me down!!!the sunday carvery is to die for..lovely fresh tasty veg,,and the beef(STEAKS)are absolutely beautiful..better booking a table so as not to be left out!!!!!..nothing is a problem and the staff are so wiling to help...good old yorkshire hospitality..a few more places should take a leaf out of their book!!!..only wish i lived a little closer...i forgot to mention the BEER!!...runs a good cellar and the real ales are spot on.......well done MARC and the crew!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    22
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One to Visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I went there for a meal on the advice of our B&B landlady and we are so glad we did. First class food, first class service and a reasonable price. We had proper pies ( my wife had steak and ale pie while I had game pie plus new potatoes and veg) and a pint of real ale for me. We enjoyed it so much that we went again the following evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Think theyre sunday lunch maybe better and they take the eye of the ball with Evening Meals .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Sunday evening booked a table as on hoilday and went because of Trip advisor. Had Lasagne salad homemade chips . Salad and chips fab lasagne was too tomato flavour and too dry not enough sauce . Mainly food was fab but again Bread and Butter pudding lovely but custard was sprinkled with cinnamon and spoiled it still good thou .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are plenty of reviews of the Black Bull on this site which recommend the Sunday carvery and very good it is too, but to experience this pub at its best you should consider visiting on an evening when it is less hectic (on the Sunday that we visited they served 106 carvery meals in two hours!).
First impressions of the Black Bull are the friendliness of all of the staff. There were two real ales on sale during our first visit, Theakston’s Old Peculiar and North Yorkshire Brewing Company’s Yorkshire Golden. Both were in superb condition and once a pint was pulled the invitation to “take a sip and I’ll top it up for you” was indicative of the high level of service in the pub.
As with the carvery, the meals served are substantial to say the least. Good honest and home cooked they represent good value for money if you have the appetite for them. If you don’t have such a hearty appetite you may want to order a small portion, especially of the chips. I would particularly mention the steak pie with vegetables and the T-bone steak which was cooked to a perfect medium rare pink.
To sum up, excellent beer, good hearty food, and a very warm welcome, what more could you ask for in a country pub?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARFIELD BARNSLEY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“black bull what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

been coming about 7 years all time of the year what a fined the beer is superb we only ever a sandwich but what a sandwich great beef and the prawns to die for and real chips great land lord and all the staff keep it up see you in oct b&b griffiths south yorkshire

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bull Pub also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Black Bull Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bull Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.