We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eskdale Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eskdale Inn to your Saves list
Eskdale Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Station Road | Castleton, Whitby YO21 2EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Staffs
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A decent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was a very comfortable pub and dogs also welcome which was a bonus for us. The portions were very good and the quality was also good, price was also reasonable so we enjoyed our visit. Staff very pleasant and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

(... but only if my home offered an excellent choice of well-kept cask conditioned beers!)

We have family connections to the area, which we love, but this was our first visit to the Eskdale Inn. Karen, the landlady, is lovely and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable.
Our room (Room 1) was well equipped, spotlessly clean, and quiet, and we had two extremely comfortable nights' sleep. The atmosphere in the pub downstairs was great, but we were never troubled by any noise.
Breakfast was a feast, and all the food was of good quality.
All in all, it was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

A great pub, with good food and good beers, an excellent meeting place, as the seating is such that a large group can be seen by all whilst conversing. The food is good, and a must is the Sticky Toffee Pudding, which is home made by one of the locals......good, wholesome 'mum food', reminds you of the good old days......a must for all travellers, get yourself over and enjoy......

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had lunch at the Eskdale Inn and were very impressed. Not only is it is open all day but it serves food all day. They serve a range of main courses and starters and also serve bar food. We found the food to be of excellent quality and generously portioned. The beers were very well kept and were real ales. This was the first time that we had visited the Inn and we found the lady who served us to be particularly welcoming which was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights last weekend which another friend while attending a Wedding at Danby Castle.

The location of the country pub is very nice and the welcome is very warm. We had dinner in the bar the first night (highly recommend booking as if we hadn't we would never have gotten a table). My Beef and Ale pie was lovely and served with home-made chips, my wife lasagne was nice but lacked seasoning and had a dried herb flavour (almost as though the sauce was by from a jar) and the third in our party had beef Stroganoff which was nice, though had some strange creamed rice with it which made it too rich – we definitely had no space for desert. The total price with 9 drinks was £54 which I would say was reasonable value based on the massive portion size.

As far as accommodation goes, there are two en-suite rooms above the Pub, and it would seem that either room could be a double or twin (Beds with zips). The rooms where in a good state, though were very small and our room was very warm (explained when we found the hot water tank was in the cupboard of our room).

The bed/bedding was a disappointment as the mattress was cheap and covered with a plastic “protector” sheet, the pillows were cheap and flat and the zip up the middle was uncomfortable. There wasn't any apparent sound-proofing of the room against the other room, or from teh pub meaning the room was loud at night until closing time – But the you are above a pub… The only other drawbacks with the room was the light curtains and the uncovered Velux window, meaning we both woke up at 6am each morning due to the very bright light, and a very noisy plumbing system which woke everyone in either room up with each toilet flush.

The breakfast each morning was to be served by 9 which for us was a little early on the Sunday – But as it is a sole proprietor pub she needed to change our rooms for the next guest so it is understandable. The quality and again the quanity of the food was very good, with Cereal, Juice, Tea/Coffee and a full English with toast all available.

All in all, at a push we would stay here again for the £69 a night it cost, and would definitely stay if the room was improved with better quality bedding/curtains or made a little cheaper. We would not, however, stay here if we did not know the people in the other room as you really could hear every little thing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is not a pretentious gastropub with cheesy music and stupid names for the toilets. It's as popular with the locals as it is with visitors like me, and is open all day, every day and serves food all day too.

It has great food and great real ale and it all comes at a price that would be good even if the food was from a microwave and the beer was Watneys Red Barrel. Right next to the Station in Castleton on the Middlesbrough-Whitby line, you don't even have to drive.

It's now my favourite pub anywhere, ever, and you'll get a warm welcome off mine host Karen if she's not out the back washing the net curtains.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eskdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskdale Inn

Address: Station Road | Castleton, Whitby YO21 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eskdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional village pub with two en suite guest bedrooms. Food served daily between 12 & 8 pm. (8-30 on Fridays& Saturdays) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Eskdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eskdale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.