We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Butts Stables Restaurant

Cross Butts Stables Restaurant
Guisborough Road | Cross Butts Hotel and Stable Restaurant, Whitby YO21 1TL, England
01947 820986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 177 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Visited here on recommendation of our caravan park and it was worth it. Though a little expensive for a burger (£14) the presentation was perfect and in fact was too much to eat. Would definitely visit here again if we were in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    64
    22
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Sunday lunch I have ever had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Myself, Partner and two children have visited The Stables on five occasions for Sunday lunch this Spring/Summer and it is highly recommended by all of us! The lunch costs a bit more than you would normally expect to pay (£11.95) but the portion size more than makes up for this. We have never had any problems with the food, it has always been delicious. My partner, who is fussy when it comes to how his beef is cooked, has never had any issues. I myself have sampled the beef, turkey and pork dinners and have enjoyed every one.

On occasion it can sometimes be difficult to get the attention of the waiters/waitresses, but everytime we have visited it has been quite busy and they have been rushed off their feet, so it is understandable. I must say the staff are all very friendly and accommodating, we always just turn up, never book and the longest wait we had was 30 minutes, which soon passed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty meal in lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The setting of this pub is beautiful!!! Looks lovely from the outside and the views are amazing! Inside lovely garden room, which is where we were seated for our meal- with lovely views of the pond. For starters I had baked Brie which was nice and beautifully presented. Then I had the lamb shank, which again was beautifully presented and tasted Devine!! Came with garlic mash nd mint gravy the lamb almost fell off the bone! Feeling pretty full we decided to share a dessert of choc and baileys pudd!! Which again looked lovely.
The service was a let down!! The waitress was foreign and we did have to repeat ourselves a few times!! And for a normal pub u would think closing would be later than 10,but we did feel they staff were waiting for us to leave, so they could leave! Would defo go back lovely food in a beautiful setting!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Special trips to Whitby call for an amazing Cross Butts carvery! (I just wish this place was closer to home!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Can't recommend this place high enough. Great atmosphere for both couples, groups and families. Generous portions and the Yorkshire puddings are HUGE!! All their food is locally sourced and fresh. The carvery is the best - I order it every time we go. Great value and great service. Very homely feel and warm surroundings. They've extended to accommodate more tables and it's lovely. Whenever we visit Whitby we always go to Cross Butts!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Stunning Stables!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited here last Friday as we were there for the weekend, staff friendly and welcoming , great selection of food and drink , veggie lasagne was lovely, had lunch inside and then took our drinks outside, lovely surroundings and views, will certainly be back when we are next in Whitby and have recommended to our family and friends

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Butts Stables Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cross Butts Stables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Butts Stables Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.