We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Holiday Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morningside Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morningside Hotel
Save
You added Morningside Hotel to your Saves list
10 North Promenade, Whitby YO24 3JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Chesterfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Myself, wife and two friends enjoyed a 3 night break in the Morningside hotel in July 2013. We were allocated a large sea view room and a suite overlooking the cricket ground and moors to the rear of the hotel. Both rooms looked as if they had been recently refurbished and were very clean. Shower cubicles were large and there was never a shortage of hot water.
Breakfasts were extremely large and exceptionally well cooked. For those with a smaller appetite there was lots of choice to suit.
Evening meals were also very well cooked with a tremendous choice of starters, mains and sweets.
All in all brilliant accommodation and exceptional value for money.
Thank you Sandra and Paul, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked this Hotel on the internet after reading other peoples reviews that had stayed there several times before, all good reviews. From the time we arrived until the time we checked out we were treated as friends more than guests, this makes for a great stay nothing was to much trouble, we met people who had been there dozens of times before and had nothing for praise for the owners and staff alike. The food is to die for the breakfasts are not only large but quality, and so are the evening meals. The hotel is right on the promenade overlooking the sea and so quiet. We had a back room looking over the cricket grounds it was roomy and very clean. There is daily servicing of all the rooms and coffee and tea making facilities as well as biscuits. It takes about 10 minutes to walk into Whitby town centre so its very handy if you like going out for a meal or drink as apposed to having one at the Hotel you don't have to worry about driving. The outlook from the hotel when your in the dining room or the lounge is stunning can't wait to go back again, absolutely loved it. Note they have car parking on site and in the street free which is a bonus as most of the hotels in the town and surrounding area have limited parking or none and on street or pay to park is not cheap, they also cater for Motorcyclists as I asked them if they minded if I came on my motorcycle anytime. Its just a great friendly spotlessly clean place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 6 it was brilliant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel. View from front window to die for. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. I would definitely go there again. We were travelling down from Berwick on Tweed and the room was so good we decided to stay two nights to have a good rest. Weather brilliant. I had forgotten how nice Whitby is, especially when the sun is shining. Great breakfast even though we are veggie. Plenty to eat. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view its worth it. I could have stood at the window all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

went to this hotel, never been in such a well maintained, clean hotel. The food was out of this world and the owners were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only downside was the weather in Whitby when we were there, but the hotel was lovely and warm and there was a bar to have a drink in, reasonably priced to keep out of the cold. We will be going back to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Arrived last-minute to a very friendly welcome. Given a choice of 3 rooms. Each were clean and comfortable with child friendly facilities. Communal areas traditional and homely, bedrooms fresh and updated. View from front double bedroom excellent, flawless breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay, will return to Morningside if we visit Whitby again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a real northern warm welcome. What a wonderful room with sea view and lounge area. What a comfortable bed. What a great loo and shower room. What a great place to have a bar with a magic selection of drinks. What a fabulous breakfast so perfectly cooked on demand (no mass catering style hot plates making the egg hard or bacon tough here). What care to make sure everything was prefect, even down to the acr staying after check out whilst we went off to enjoy ourselves. Look no further this is THE place in Whitby.

Room Tip: You can't have rom 2 when we want to go to Whitby for fish n chips - that's ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend with all family tp spread grandads ashes in the Whitby sea. Fab rooms great views spotless and staff could not do enough for you. Lovely breakfast options and reasonable cost too.great views and location well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morningside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Hotel

Address: 10 North Promenade, Whitby YO24 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morningside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.