We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY-BUT WOULDNT GO AGAIN” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dunsley Hall to your Saves list
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley, Whitby YO21 3TL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY-BUT WOULDNT GO AGAIN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This was our second time , at Dunsley Hall. We stayed in a ground floor room., very spacious. Two massive wardrobes in the room, so tall we couldnt reach the the top shelf! No drawers, so everything was bundled in to 3 shelves, including shoes. En-suite shower room. But the shower room was very small. No where to put a toilet bag etc. had to put it on the floor. Clean towels daily, which was nice. We were there for 4nights, so the sheets were not changed.
Everthing seemed different to the last time we stayed-not as good. The first night we ate in the small dining room(just 4 of us)
The second night just the two of us in the larger dining room. We were placed right at the far end of the room(knowing that my Husband had difficulty in walking) It was cold, and there was a draught, blowing through the double (kitchen) doors we were sat in front of.---Very unpleasant. The menu was repetitive--same food disguised as a different dish! And they didnt seem to know what fresh vegetables were!
On our last night we couldnt face the menu. as we had run out of food we liked, i had had fish twice, and had to eat the Lamb, which i dont like.
We ate at the Cross Butts Stable Restaurant (5 minutes away) it was fantastic. Excellent quality , and excellent choice. We loved it. And our next visit to Whitby, will be there, as they have Luxury rooms around a Courtyard, and they looked superb.
Please dont be put off by my report, as Dunsley Hall is still a magnifecent building etc. but it seemed to have lost its sparkle.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    112
    39
    10
    18
See reviews for
45
256
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This was our second stay with at this wonderful hotel. Set in a peaceful location it is ideal for visiting Whitby and exploring the Moors.

The quality of service from the owners and their staff remains excellent. The rooms are spacious and very clean & comfortable.

The food remains out of this world and as I am not usually a big eater I managed to devour almost everything at dinner. The portions are also a lot bigger than many hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Great locatiion really really quiet out in the country. Breakfast was pretty poor I got the cooked breakfast and ended up having cereal after it. Staff were polite but some looked down their nose at you which I found a bit disconcerting, but on the whole they were not too bad. After paying £152 for the night I expected at least a mini bar and a fridge but non there. Overall not a bad stay but the prices left a lot to be desired considering it is 2-3 miles outside whitby in a very rural location. Wouldn't go back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We have just returned from our daughters wedding at Dunsley Hall near Whitby......and it was perfect! The staff gave excellent advice in the run up to the wedding and were always on hand when we needed them, throughout our stay. We were in the hands of very competent staff and they took over, especially Caroline, removing all the stress
of the ocassion, enabling us to relax and enjoy a perfect wedding. The accomodation was spotless, spaceous and well equipped, excellent food, excellent service. There was attention to detail throughout our stay, and the tables were set out beautifully for the wedding breakfast. I would certainly recommend Dunsley as a wedding venue, or for a perfect weekend break for couples.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had a lovely break at this hotel. The bedroom was large & very comfortable. Both breakfast & dinner were very good. All the staff were all friendly & helpful. We enjoyed the walk down to Sandsend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We ( my husband and I ) visited Dunsley Hall for 2 nights and were suitably impressed. The trip was booked as a relaxing break for us both and booked to coincide with my birthday. Our room was excellent - beautiful four poster ( modern) and lovely views. The room had everything one could expect and some extras - Cadburys Hot Chocolate sachets on the tea tray and bottled water in the room.
The hotel has been sympathetically modernised and has retained many of its original features which all adds to the ambiance and general warm feeling.
We had booked dinner, bed and breakfast and we thought that the food was very good. The menu erred on the fishy side but this is hardly suprising since the sea is visible from the hotel! We found the food well prepared and presented and there has obviously been a lot of thought put into the menu - and this shows.
We were fortunate with the weather and we thought that the little garden outside the bar a glorious place to sit.
The staff were attentive but not overly so - some of the restaurant staff could do with some extra training since for all intents and purposes this is a fine dining experience. High marks to the owners son ( whose name I cant remember - shame on me) who I found to be just informal enough and very helpful.
I obviously have to mention the "mark down" points or this review would not be fair.
The televisions in the bedroom only had the five main tv channels and I think that most people would expect to have freeview as a minimum standard on hotel televisions.
Some of the staff were excellent but some let the hotel down - a few more smiles, acknowledgements, and attentiveness would have gone a long way.
The prices of drinks in the bar were a little overpriced - but none more so than the soft drinks. I find £1.80 for a half of mixer diet coke horribly overpriced and frankly it smacks of pure greed by the owners - pity any parents who bring their children.
Still, my criticism aside I have to say that we had a wonderful time here and we look forward to returning - its a little hidden gem and I hope to be visiting for many moons to come. I am going to book my next visit to coincide with cold weather ( not too difficult!) so that we can experience the big open fires roaring away.
Highly recommended - please visit if you want a relaxing break from civilisation

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The best, a beautiful building with great surroundings.
The worst, greasy food and overpriced rooms. Also, our room was not clean (proof of that is that I found a piece of garment of a former guest while looking under the bed). So, the room was clean, just not under the beds or the rest of the furniture.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Address: Dunsley, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunsley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.