We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely two night break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunsley Hall to your Saves list
Dunsley Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunsley, Whitby YO21 3TL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely two night break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just arrived back from a two night break at Dunsley hall hotel near Whitby. I bought a voucher from buy a gift.com for a two night luxury break for my husband for Christmas and he chose this hotel from a selection.
As it says in the brochure we found that the Dunsley hall is a true Victorian country house which offers traditional comfort and is elegantly furnished within keeping with the Victorian era. Our Bedroom was cosy and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and a trouser press.
The manager and the staff were very welcoming and friendly, they were so attentive and nothing seemed too much trouble. The food was fantastic. We took evening dinner one of the nights which there was a good choice of menu. Canapés were served in the bar while the staff took your order from the menu. We were also served with pre starters in the dinning room. All dishes were presented well and if you could manage a sweat you were also given a pre sweet course too.
For breakfast there was a lot of choice and plentiful. There were a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts, fruit juices to help yourself to then we chose the Dunsley Grill which consisted of 2 rashers of bacon, 1 egg, 1 sausage, black pudding, tomato and fried bread followed by toast. ( I Had to ask for a smaller portion on the second morning.)
For what we paid it was very good value for money and we would definitely go back. It is ideal for couples wishing to get away for a romantic break but I would like to go back also with a few couples who are close friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    122
    42
    13
    18
See reviews for
48
282
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked this hotel via buy a gift.com at Christmas.It was the deluxe selection 2 nights b&b inc.We had never been to Whitby so we chose Dunsley Hall,from the moment we arrived to when we left nothing was too much trouble. Dunsley Hall is stunning,our room was superb,the staff were very attentive & friendly.Breakfast was plentiful & locally sourced.We ate at the hotel on the first night that was a beautiful meal.We wanted to try the local restaurants in the town so we took our car & went to the town.We found a gem, The Marine, deffo worth a visit,food brilliant,staff brilliant,
spotless & a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here on 11th and 12th March. We had a fabulous two days out walking during the day and coming back to staff who were very friendly and helpful. The food and hospitality was great. We would recommend afternoon tea and the dinner was just superb.
A big thank you to all the staff. We are already thinking of coming back in summer to get some more walking in the area and then relaxing in the evening at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay on a coupon deal which was excellent value. Was allocated one of the fabolous 4 poster rooms with double window aspect ,large bathroom, cosy warm on such a cold wet day when we arrived. Very warm welcome and excellent standard of staffing throughout . Ate table dhote first night- excellent value. A la carte second night. Fantastic food. Lovely caring touches. Very clean.
Do need own transport because of location but this is part of the charm- good pubs with open fire and great beer 2 miles at sandsend down narrow track turn right out of hotel.
Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

on arrival we had to move out of the way for trademans carrying boxes of frozen food through reception, when we where trying to check in, room was nice but views poor, we were totally disappointed to find the building was frezzing cold intertally on a very cold day. When we checked in they didnt tell us they had a problem with the heating and all the staff was telling us different information about when the heating was coming back on, after 3 hours of sitting in the lounge/ bedroom/bar with our coats on we decided to leave very disappointed, and we felt the staff very blunt with us as well.

Room Tip: Dont Bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked this hotel via a deal break. Gordon was especially helpful when we were initially deciding the dates of our stay and also for the choice of room. From the moment we arrived - we felt welcomed and comfortable. All members of staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and in the bar on the second night - the food being excellent on both occassions. Breakfast was also excellent. Our room and bathroom were very spacious and very tastefully furnished in keeping with the building. The location is ideal for driving into Whitby. We hope to revisit in the future. Thank you for making our visit so memorable.

Room Tip: We had Room 18 in the older part of the building - which we loved. Bedroom has three windows which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a deal, good value, but more importantly we have found a gem of a place. From making the booking to our arrival we were treated very well, the food was excellent, and the service was second to none.Thankyou for a lovely break . We hope to return soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Address: Dunsley, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunsley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.