We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dunsley Hall to your Saves list
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley, Whitby YO21 3TL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fantastic stay on 13/02/13. Beautiful place and most friendly staff I ever came across, just couldn't do enough to accommodate us. Went on wowcher deal and actually felt guilty not paying full price. Beautiful food in resteraunt too. Will defo be back soon.

Tina Kimmitt

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    112
    39
    10
    18
See reviews for
45
256
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We went for an early valentine treat, the hotel is lovely but we had to change rooms shortly after unpacking our stuff as there was a problem with the heating. The room we moved into was like a sauna and I'm not joking!! The bed wasn't too comfy either! On a positive note the staff are mega helpful and friendly. Breakfast was beautiful except the bacon which had been microwaved. All in all good though, you probably won't be disappointed

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My fiancé booked this to surprise me the weekend after we got engaged and the weekend before valentine's day.
We had a lovely big bedroom with 4 poster bed and separate bathroom with underfloor heating.
Loved the restaurant experience whereby we had drinks in the bar with snacks whilst we looked through the menu. Once ordered we were left to relax with our drinks before being brought a complimentary appetiser. Once our starters were ready we were taken through to the restaurant where we had a lovely meal followed by coffee served in the cosy library.
We slept like babies in our 4 poster and breakfast was just as lovely as our evening meal.
We had a walk round the grounds after breakfast and spotted peacocks and sheep!
We then enjoyed a day out exploring the windy street of Robin Hoods Bay and the cobbles in Whitby.
It was a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: Stay in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our choice after receiving a Buy a Gift hotel stay voucher for mine & my partners birthdays. It certainly didn't disappoint. Chose Dunsley Hall as its close to Whitby & we love going there. A very eye catching hall with lots of lovely period features. Very helpful reception staff who also had other feathers to their caps by serving breakfast too. We were shown to room 1 which is on the ground floor. It was large with a four poster, settee & lovely views. We were surprised as we'd booked with a voucher expected to be put in a non descript type of room so we were really happy. The breakfast was tasty & there was enough to keep us going for a long time whilst we explored the local bays & harbours.
Great stay & will certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place is just around the corner from us and we decided to give it a try. The hall is lovely, lots of period features, a pleasant lounge and comfortable bar with large leather armchairs and a warm log burner. The bedroom was large , modern and warm. the extra large bed was very comfortable. Underfloor heating in the bathroom was super. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. It was the food that impressed although deciphering the menu is not easy It is written in a pretentios way and we had to ask for a description of some of the offerings. The dining room is large and well lit yet srill retaining a sense of comfort. It was not too busy on the night we were there. The service was just right, we were not rushed and the courses came without delay. We had the a la carte menue and the incidentals such as the mousse bouche, mid course sorbet and pre desert fruit trifle just iced the cake. The food is a treat and the presentation is quite spectacular. There is no doubt that this place is a must for visitors to the Whitby area. We will be going again and will recommend whenever we get the chance

Room Tip: Room 26 has french doors out to the lawned garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Excellent facilities, fabulous food and very friendly staff - key ingredients for a very enjoyable stay, especially in a snow storm. Proximity to bracing coastal walks is a bonus. We will certainly be going back for more of the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely Food, Nice People, just let down by the room which we were placed in.
Definite plumbing problems in Room 25. When water was emptied from the bath tub a rather stagnant smell emerged but we simply presumed that this was due to the fact that the room may not have been used for some time. However it apeared that this was not the case and that Room 25 is well known by the staff for this problem. The smell was overpowering by the time we got back to the room after our meal in the restaurant. We even tried placing towels at the bottom of the bathroom door to stop the smell escaping. We did report this to a member of staff who simply said "Oh you must be staying in Room 25". Why therefore if staff know that there is a problem with the room is it being used as a bedroom when it is clearly unfit for purpose. We are still awaiting a response from the hotel management who promised on our departure to email us. After writing to the hotel on 8.1.13, I am still awaiting a reply. Not impressed !

Room Tip: Stay well clear of Room 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Address: Dunsley, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunsley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.