We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip, incredible food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunsley Hall to your Saves list
Dunsley Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dunsley, Whitby YO21 3TL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great trip, incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wonderful hotel, beautiful rooms and friendly staff. Exquisite food - all 9 courses!

Room Tip: Room 1 would be worth asking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    122
    42
    13
    18
See reviews for
48
282
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have been to the Dunsley Hall Hotel only for Sunday Lunch, on two occasions, never yet managed to stay there. On both visits the service and food have been excellent.. Really good ,locally sourced food , served well by pleasant,well trained Staff who actually looked as though they enjoyed their vocation( strange I know,but not a scowl in sight).We hope soon to go there for a weekend, although we only live 10 miles away, Regards John and Trish

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this comfortable, clean and friendly hotel. The food was excellent both for dinner and a good variety provided at breakfast, including warm croissants! :)
Lovely surroundings, both inside and out and I especially enjoyed the atmospheric bar for some after dinner drinks. Highly recommended. Whitby is within a 10 minute drive and is a pretty and interesting town.

Room Tip: My room looked out onto the gardens and I could see the sea on the horizon :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snoops22
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Just went to Dunsley Hall for my first visit yesterday..had their Christmas Fare Menu £16.95 for 2 courses. It was excellent..the staff were lovely & very attentive. It would be a fantastic place for a private function or a murder mystery weekend. It's a beautiful building...not too large & very clean.
They had gone to town with classy Christmas decorations with the most beautiful monkey puzzle tree in the middle of the lawn decorated with lights...lovely.
I really can recommend this place...a lovely find that would be perfect for a romantic weekend...just a mile or so from picturesque Sandsend & it's lovely beach..& only a coupkle more to historic Whitby with all it's charms.
Please go...you'll love it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed there in December for a short weekend break. The staff were friendly, the rooms well presented and clean. We had an a la carte meal in the restaurant in the evening; again the staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was terriffic, if a little pricey. The only small negative was that they brought the wrong starter for my partner, but she ate half of it before we realised, so we didn't say anything. It was nice enough anyway.

In short, I'd recommend this hotel for anyone that's looking for a quite, luxurient country break.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor, better views of the countryside and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Looking for a country house short break,I was taken by the standard and price of Dunsley Hall hotel. Nothing about our stay disappointed, especially when I asked the staff to accomodate my allergy to dairy produce. Many times in the past I have had to suffer plain boiled tasteless food, but not here, The chefs are at the top of their trade and I enjoyed full and imaginative meals. Many thanks to you all at Dunsley, you performed brilliantly.

Room Tip: Get a price from the late booking websites, then ring the hotel direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very clean and and nicely presented with distincly 60's feel and set in a perfect location - quiet but just a 10 minute drive to Whitby. Our room decor was in keeping with the rest of the hotel i.e. 60's but that sits fine with me. Impressively there no noise problems despite there being a classic car club based at the hotel for the weekend. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and didn't hesitate to provide us with additional heating when asked. Exceptional breakfast. Only minor quibble was that the evening meal could have been a bit better for the price. Other than that, everything was just right. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable break and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Address: Dunsley, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunsley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.