We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shepherd's Purse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Shepherd's Purse to your Saves list
The Shepherd's Purse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Old Workshops , Sanders Yard , Church Street | Whitby, North Yorkshire, Whitby YO22 4DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had a two night stay here with my boyfriend and thought it was lovely! We stayed in room 4 which is quite small but just what we needed for getting ready and sleeping! Would probably book a bigger room for a special occasion. Right in the middle of everything but set back in a quiet courtyard making it a bit more private! Loved it. Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    38
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
8
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had one night in an ensuite room. The room was nicely decorated. There was no room for a chair to sit on but is probably what to expect in old buildings.
The location was great, walking distance to every where.
Seagulls are noisy but it is near water so to be expected.
The only problem was the bathroom. It had not been cleaned properly and something was left in the bowl. Once we got over that encounter it was ok. For this reason cleanliness has been marked low.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

if you want to really feel the mood of this lovely fishermen village you're in the right place. A warm welcome and generous hotel. A really romantic, quiet, clean and professionally maintained family oriented hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed one night (room 6: shared bathroom and toilet, was also a stand alone toilet so no hardship there). Set in a quiet attractive courtyard, one room has a little balcony...ours was high up so had attractive many shaped/sized rooftops as well as courtyard to look out on.
Anyway very clean, great range of tea and coffee in room, little tv with 50 channels (didnt use), quality toiletries, comfy bed, very tasteful decor which is somewhat quirky in style. peaceful (except an old fishwives row erupted at midnight between 2 guests as there had been a mistake in their room allocation!)..but hold that against them not the B&B. Its cheap (£60) but NB they dont serve breakfast (but thats ok as plenty around). Nice location on the Abbey side of the harbour (1 minute from the steps to the abbey; 1 minute walk to the bridge over to the busier side).
Loved the way it is a bit different in its decor: bit boho maybe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent room with nice touches. Warm, quiet, central. Sat TV and fast wifi. What more do you need? A comfy bed! They've got that covered too! I got such a good deal, they could definitely charge more. Tea and coffee and biscuits etc in room, really good quality toiletries, beautiful yard. Staff very friendly. Will stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4, which is a small double. But perfectly formed with everything you need. I stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked two rooms for a short break with friends. The rooms are small but absolutely beautiful. It's a great location with a quiet courtyard to sit. All in all very good value for the price we paid, we are planning a return visit in autumn

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed at the shepherd's purse quite a few times over the years and every stay has been very pleasant and welcoming. Room 2 is our favorite and would recommend it for couples. I have noticed though that the room is getting somewhat tired and needs some money spending on it. The TV was very dated and the shower was broken so water sprayed out the side. I still love staying there and would happily stay again but really think it's time for an update considering the cost per night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shepherd's Purse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's Purse

Address: The Old Workshops , Sanders Yard , Church Street | Whitby, North Yorkshire, Whitby YO22 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shepherd's Purse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Accommodation in the heart of the Old Town, situated on Whitby's popular East side. Nestled below the roof tops of Church Street is our hidden garden, with galleried court yard accommodation and pretty bedrooms decorated with stripped pine furniture and lacy curtains, four posters and brass bed steads. Private balconies and china cups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Shepherd's Purse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Purse Hotel Whitby
Shepherds Purse Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shepherd's Purse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.