We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 2 night break!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shepherd's Purse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Shepherd's Purse to your Saves list
The Shepherd's Purse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Church St., Whitby YO22 4BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2 night break!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Found this accommodation trawling through google. We previously stayed next door last year, at Sanders Yard.

We travelled on 16th November for two nights, and booked the best room - which is Room 5. It cost £150 for both of us, room only, for two nights.

Previous to booking, spoke to the staff with queries, and they were more than accommodating and informative.

Room was lovely - had a four poster bed and corner bath suite. Very quaint courtyard up to the way to the room, and our room had its own little balcony with table and chairs.

Lovely complimentary bath products to use, and fresh flowers in the bedroom, which was a lovely touch. Room also cleaned on both days. Very very clean.

Location was fantastic.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    33
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
7
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Could be really nice with some tweeking and loving care. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, good job it wasn't as it was too cold to get undressed, the room was freezing, we complained about the cold and a fire appeared on the day we were leaving with our bags. We had half dead flowers in the room and on the balcony ( the good intention was there just not continued through ). I booked the room according to their wonderful description and pictures of their coutryard and although autumn was setting in the courtyard was dead and a disgrace, yet again the thought was there but not carried through, it just needed looking after like Sanders yard next to it, they were out planting and hanging lanterns while we were there. It actually looked like they were too busy with the shop and need help with the B&B side. The door on the landing kept opening as it wouldn't close properly which added to the cold and the double doors in the room didn't close properly and the bath panel was broken. Lovely scheme but needs finishing touches, has an unloved feel about it which is sad as it could be so nice. When we handed the keys in the lady just blanked us and didn't ask us how our stay was (as she knew we weren't happy ) and there was no friendliness or please come again .

Room Tip: Go to Sanders Yard or take your thermals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A hidden gem in Whitby, Rooms full of caracter. In the heart of Whitby. Set in a beautiful court yard. 2nd visit booked again for next year.The rooms are cosy and warm, the owners are very helpful. Please visit the website to see the rooms as they are all different.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed in robin hoods bay the previous 2 nights so think we could of been a little bit spoilt there. We got the room for 50 pounds as we saw the advert in the shop window do decided to stay in Whitby for 1 night. We had room 5 which was spotless, lovely bed linen etc. our problem was that it was just way too small, felt like we were shuffling around and goodness knows how you would find room to get ready for a night out. Its in a great spot and we really liked the pub just round the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful people and a wonderful place. The room is clean and tidy and the added little extras make you feel right at home. We loved every second of our stay and will be back again and again! We have already stayed twice and will be booking again soon. The location is also brilliant! Right off the main street. Just amazing, I highly recommend them!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed weekend of sept 8,did not book,saw ad outside shop,50 pound a room per night.stayed in room 5,cosy,4 poster bed,tele,tea and coffee,biscuits,bathroom essentials.all in all very good,quirky courtyard,friendly staff,close to pubs,shops and restaraunts,highly recomend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Lovely rooms and welcoming staff, clean rooms and friendly reception in the shop (which is also great) could be improved by wifi connection. Also be prepared for seagulls! but that is the British seaside not the hotel!!

Room Tip: NB rooms 6 and 7 share a bathroom!! We didn't find it a problem at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shepherd's Purse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's Purse

Address: 95 Church St., Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shepherd's Purse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Accommodation in the heart of the Old Town, situated on Whitby's popular East side. Nestled below the roof tops of Church Street is our hidden garden, with galleried court yard accommodation and pretty bedrooms decorated with stripped pine furniture and lacy curtains, four posters and brass bed steads. Private balconies and china cups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Shepherd's Purse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Purse Hotel Whitby
Shepherds Purse Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shepherd's Purse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.