We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse and Griffin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Horse and Griffin to your Saves list
White Horse and Griffin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“May weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stopped again at this hotel and we are booking for next year again. A lovely little hotel with laid back staff that don't bother you unless you want something. Lovely breakfast with choice of several different ones. Building a bit dated but it's been there since 1689 so can't complain .

Room Tip: Don't go in the attic bedrooms if tall or have problems walking as a lot of stairs and low ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    84
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
150
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to Whitby for my boyfriends birthday... He likes the old looking building with abit of character! So I found this place on laterooms and decided it had everything I needed! I rang up to book my room which turn out to be cheaper! ( take note travellers ) I spoke to a young gent on the phone and he was fantast! Asked what kind of break I was having and what I was looking for.. So then told me the perfect room for me! TURNS OUT, he was right.
The lady on check in was brill.
The room.. And the hotel it's self! STUNNING really beautiful building! You know your in a old building full of character and charm when you step foot into this hotel! I would recommend any day! If your a light sleeping this might not be the hotel for you, as you can hear everything that's happening above you! But honestly you don't even notice it, and to be honest it just adds to feel of the place!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Break booked through a 2 night deal with 2 course dinner included on first night. As it was my husband's 50th, I requested a large room if possible. We were not disappointed, as the Wayful room was a lovely size, including a sofa and bath with overhead shower. Although the room is right on the front, the only noise really was the seagulls....can't complain about them in Whitby.

Lovely welcoming and friendly staff throughout....requested a bottle of Prosecco in our room and this was waiting for us in an ice bucket.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night, as the offer included a two course meal. We had scallops and carpaccio of salmon starters, followed by the seafood meze - absolutely amazing and well worth its price tag! Wine was reasonably priced and a lovely touch was the bottled water.....

Breakfast was lovely....full English on day 1 and then the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on a muffin on day 2. Nice little touches like butter in dishes and sauce in bottles....instead of sachets and foil packets!! No idea why the criticism about the coffee....hot filtered coffee was lovely!!

Wish we could have stayed longer. Only point that should be made clear is that there is a £15 supplement per couple on certain meal choices, we only found this out when paying the bill.

All in all, a lovely friendly hotel and we will definitely be back.

Mark & Helen

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently visited here as the menu was very appealing and we loved how discreet and quirky it looked. The seating area in the restaurant was lovely, there was a great atmosphere in there.

The starters we ordered (scallops and mushrooms) were incredibly delicious and a fair price.

The mains were equally as tasty, but we were slightly let down on one of the meals. The mussels we ordered were served as a large portion and the sauce they were in was delicious. They should come with chips and bread, although we did have to ask for the waiter for the bread a while after. We also ordered a lamb dish, which was of a very high quality. But it was served with the equivalent of one new potato, sliced into quarters, two thin strips of carrot and one of parsnip. For such cheap food (potato and veg), I think they could have perhaps provided a slightly bigger portion as it certainty wasn't enough for me, and I really don't have a large appetite. We did mention this to the waiter after the meal, he wasn't exactly apologetic but we said something more in the hope it may change the experience for diners after us.

In summary, delicious food, lovely place, you may leave full and content, but be prepared to not be.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very pleasant overnight stay in this very quaint hotel and restaurant. Lovely helpful and friendly staff. We stayed here for just one night and had a lovely meal in the restaurant. As this is in central Whitby the only down side is the lack of parking, but there are plenty of car parks not too far awaythat have 24hr parking available.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I purchased a deal through Living Social - 2 nights B and B plus 2 course evening meal for £149. What excellent value!! We stayed in the Scoresby room. Admittedly there was no view from the room, but this did not concern us as we hardly spent any time in the room. We were blessed with fab weather and found the staff very obliging, the room spotlessly clean and the food excellent. We would definitely stay here again when we visit Whitby and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Husband and I had stayed here before a few years ago and we really enjoyed it so my Husband booked again for my birthday. We had a room right up in the attic (Bagatelle), this room was nice but the stairs were quite tricky (narrow and windy) hence the hand rails. You had to watch your head when getting in and out of bed and we only had one bedside table. I also think it would be a good idea to have a hairdryer in every room without having to ask for one.
Breakfast was ok but the choice of cereal was poor (Muesli or Weetabix on first morning then there was the addition of crunchy nut cornflakes the next day)! The cooked breakfast was very nice. The coffee was far too strong (for me) so I had to order a pot of hot water to weaken it (this was no trouble). We also thought that toast should be brought to your table rather than having to use the toaster that didn't toast unless you put the bread through twice. The waitress at breakfast also called everyone 'Guys' and said it I don't know how many times! The staff however were very friendly and the hotel is set right in the heart of Whitby, We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs don't stay In the Bagatelle room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse and Griffin

Address: 87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse and Griffin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse & Griffin is an almost 450 year old Coaching Inn, the first built in Whitby to serve the route to London. Operating these days as a Restaurant with Rooms it is situated on an unspoilt cobbled shambles near the base of Whitby's famous 199 Abbey Steps. The building is technically on 3 floors but is actually on 7 different levels. It boasts 10 unique and quirky bedrooms full of history and character. The walls are bumpy, the stairs are narrow and the ceilings are low. The Bistro/ Restaurant is cosy and heated by an open fire. The food is outstanding with the signature dishes (such as the Seafood Meze for 2 & the Fillet Sharing Platter) saying much about the place - great quality, great quantity, designed for sharing and, as with much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. The WH&G is best suited to couples and groups who want to get away, eat great food, drink good wine, meet new people, join in with the atmosphere and then retire to a hand-made bed with a hand stuffed mattress to regroup before a chef-cooked breakfast. As well as a comprehensive English Breakfast choices in the morning also include Fortune's Kippers, Smoked Haddock, Kedgeree, Scrambles, Omlettes, Fresh Fruits and Honeyed Porridge. A major benefit is that the heart of unspoiled North Yorkshire and its Coast is outside the front door in either walking or steam train distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your White Horse and Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse And Griffin Hotel Whitby
White Horse And Griffin Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse and Griffin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.