We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay, perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belfry

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Belfry
Save
You added The Belfry to your Saves list
2 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheshire, United Kingdon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay, perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked this B&B as a last minute getaway for our wedding anniversary. I tried a few places who were fully booked and wouldn't accommodate us for just one night. The Belfry found us a room and just for one night. Couldn't have been happier-lovely room, clean, friendly owners, fantastic breakfast and perfect location. Would definitely go back. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Belfry over the August bank holiday. Ros and her family were very welcoming and hospitable, and we would definitely stay here again. The house is beautiful, it is well maintained, rooms are comfortable, very clean, with modern furnishings and bathroom, and are well equipped with refreshments replaced daily. Breakfast was very good and was made to order along with fruit, cereals, juice etc, to help yourself to. The location being in West Cliff was perfect for us, a few minutes from the sea and five or so minutes walking into the centre. Parking as expected during the bank holiday was busy, but we still managed to find on street parking close to the Belfry.

Room Tip: Front rooms are lovely and light with church views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely B&B which is tastefully decorated close to the beach and the town center. The rooms were spotless and the morning breakfast is excellent. One of the best showers I've ever had. Comfy bed with Egyptian Cotton sheets, which is hard to come by in small B&B's. Excellent service from Ros and Laura, who are chatty and happy to help in anyway that they can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A truly fantastic place to stay. This is a classy, well looked after, family-run, delightful guesthouse. I travel a lot for work and wish more places were like this. Everything was clean, well furnished (to a high standard) and comfortable.
The breakfast was delicious and I was made to feel very, very welcome. This will be the first place I try to book the next time I'm in Whitby.
Ros, it was a real pleasure. Thank you.
Will

Room Tip: Have a chat with Ros - she's one of the most kind and helpful guesthouse owners I've ever co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having been turned away from another Guesthouse who had mixed up our reservation we knocked on the door of the Belfry who had a family room for us. Ros, the owner was very helpful and catered for all our needs. We spent an enjoyable 3 days here and will be returning again.

Room Tip: The family room on the 1st floor facing the front of the building is huge with plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay at the Belfry in June. It was a great location just far enough out of the main town to not be too noisy but no distance to walk. We had a room at the rear of the property so could see the sea, not the prettiest view as between buildings but nice none the less.

Ros welcomed us around lunchtime and we were able to get straight in our room, unpack & settle in. We luckily managed to get parked just over the road as not in high season.

The room was very clean, plenty of space, well stocked tea & coffee tray, hairdryer, decent TV, lovely shower room. Only minor criticism was the king size bed was huge and pretty comfy but had a bit of a ridge down the middle as 2 large singles I think joined together.

Breakfast was lovely, nice modern room, good choice of cereals and the like plus Ros was kind enough to cater for my wheat intolerance with special bread & sausages.

Whitby itself is lovely, we explored all the local sights and got a bus to Robin Hoods Bay and walked back along the coast which gave some gorgeous views.

Would definitely recommend both this B&B and Whitby as a place to stay/visit and have already done so to relatives

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

At short notice in view of the good weather we decided to have a night away and chose whitby. Plenty of free parking off the Esplanade and West Cliff area. Saw the Belfry Guest House had vacancies, it looked very well maintained and clean. We spoke to the lady owner who offered to show us two rooms, we didn't need to see the second and said we would take it straight away. It turned out to be an excellent choice, the room was a double en-suite, spotlessly clean, flat screen TV and the breakfast was brilliant. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfry

Address: 2 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belfry is a beautiful Victorian home lovingly renovated and refurbished to the highest standard. We are proud to offer you modern and contemporary accommodation along with great value and friendly service. Our six specious guestroom’s have either stunning views of St Hilda’s church or Panoramic sea views. Each room has their own luxury en-suite, well stocked hospitality tray, LCD flat screen televisions & big comfortable beds. After a well-rested night’s sleep, wake up to a hearty full English breakfast along with a wide choice of cereals, fruits and yogurts (vegetarian options/dietary requirements are also available on request). The Belfry is also equipped with a top of the range CCTV and fire alarm system. Wi-Fi is also available throughout the guesthouse.PARKINGThe West Cliff car park is located directly behind The Belfry, pay and display on street parking is available as is the Whitby Park and Ride scheme- located at the A171/B1460 junction (Across from Cross Butts Stable restaurant). The service will stop at West Cliff (where we are located), North Terrace, St Hilda's Terrace and the bus station before returning via North Terrace, West Cliff to the park and ride site. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belfry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.