We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Raithwaite Estate to your Saves list
The Raithwaite Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed 1 night for my birthday. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble, the doors were opened for us, the receptionist was friendly & efficient.As it was my birthday the hotel upgraded our room to an executive room.The concierge Simon showed us to our room and gave us information on the hotel he even brought us a glass of bubbles to celebrate my birthday..again the service from Simon was excellent. We visited the spa to chill & relax before dinner which was spotless.
We booked dinner in the Brace restaurant the staff again were very attentive & wished me a Happy Birthday. The food was lovely the steak was cooked extremely well & the attention to detail was second to none...Breakfast again was lovely & to sit in the conservatory was relaxing...

The grounds are beautiful & kept very well..

We will defiantly be returning to Raithwaite Hall as we had a most enjoyable stay..

Thank You....

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    194
    89
    35
    3
See reviews for
141
643
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Booked here for a couple of days chilling after a recomendation on a package deal that included a meal and treatment at the spa. The staff are as friendly and efficient as any that I've encountered (even the workmen great you with a cheery hello). The room was big, clean and comfortable, the only downside being that if anyone is in the room above it sounds as if there is a heard of elephants up there. The meal was wonderful, as was the breakfast. The spa is nice albeit a bit limited and small - I'd just be worried that at busier times or when the expansions are complete it may be too small to cope.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for a romantic weekend and it didn't disappoint. Attentive service along with lovely facilities. We stayed in the main building our room was lovely with large bathroom with bath and walk in shower. We ordered breakfast in bed each morning and the food was exceptional. The spa facilities were also very nice and the jacuzzi overlooked the gardens and stream. A very lovely location, Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute stay for one night in one of the courtyard rooms. Cost £257!
We booked this for the swimming pool as our daughter thinks she is a dolphin. We arrived and were immediately overwhelmed by the professional attitude of the staff. They were extremely polite and very helpful, you really felt as though you were somewhere special! The room was nice but compact, the sofa bed was not very comfy for the kids.
We had tea in the bar which was also very nice, there is no doubt that this place is up there with the best but I have to point out some issues considering the amount we paid for our one night stay.
Room was dusty in places, and had not been cleaned to a high standard. There was no bath in the room. Sofa bed was not comfy.
Other than that it was really nice.. Pool was nice, staff were very friendly. The food was exceptional, especially breakfast! Loads of choice! The eggs Benedict were delicious!
Basically very nice place but for the money these few things should have been sorted out.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just returned after a wonderful relaxing stay at Raithwaite Hall in Home Farm Cottage. All of the staff OUTSTANDING, from the moment we arrived they couldn't have been more attentive. When we first arrived, Mark the manager looked after us until the moment we left, bending over backwards to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. We booked the Home Farm Cottage for two nights (3 Adults & 4 kids loads of space) we all said we could have stayed for a week, we just didn’t want to leave. Sands End & Whitby are wonderful to visit. We left planning a return visit as we hadn't managed to fit everything in which we wanted to see and do. The hotel it's self is only a couple of minutes walk to the beach, it couldn't have been placed in a better position to see all the East coast has to offer. The cottage was wonderful with the most impressive bedrooms, bathrooms and facilities. The Spa facilities are great, the whole family got to enjoy them, We are so pleased we had the pleasure of meeting Mark and all his wonderful staff, all their focus dedicated on making our stay faultless. Thanks Mark you run an incredibly tight ship. Also just wanted to mention that all the food and service through out our stay was first class, I'm sure 3 rosettes will be on the cards soon.

If you are wanting to stay in and around Whitby for any occasion, don't book anywhere else Raithwaite hall and Spa is 'Faultless'.

Once again, thank you all. We will be back as soon as we get a chance.

Dave & Charlotte Reilly

Room Tip: All great, cottages for family. Hotel for Spa for romantic breaks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay overall but the evening meal in the Brace Restaurant was disappointing. My steak was overwhelmed by the chargrill flavour and my wife's guinea fowl was at best average. We were put in the conservatory part of the restaurant which lacked atmosphere. This was to be the high spot of our stay and we really expected a top class dining experience. It very short of that.

The spa facility is excellent with the exception of not enforcing the times when children are allowed in the facility. We waited until the adult only session so we could have a relaxing time in the spa but had to put up with splashing, screaming children, again not what we expected. Can't blame kids for being kids but either you have session times for children and stick to them or don't bother.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed recently for a weekend, and from the moment you arrive, nothing is to much trouble. The Hotel receptionists were very friendly and ensured everything was as it should be and went out of there way to ensure you knew where everything was.
The Valet also was very helpful
The room we had was spacious and very comfortable, with everything you required.
The Spa is also something i would recommend to anyone planning a stay.
The restaurant in keeping with the rest of the Hotel was first class, with both food and service of a very high standard
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere special

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars.With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrivalThe local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raithwaite Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.