We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Raithwaite Estate to your Saves list
The Raithwaite Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A decent nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Raithwaite Hall for one night as a stop on a drive further south. The staff were friendly and the porter apologised for not being there to meet us as he came around delivering water to guest rooms. The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom though I couldn't get the shower to get any hotter than warm no matter how hard I tried. The TV channels were limited (we had driven all day and weren't up for going out at night, just staying in) and our courtyard didn't have a view of anything but we had come to relax and sleep, both of which we achieved at the hotel. We didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner or breakfast but rather went for a quick drive into Whitby late afternoon. It's only 10 minutes drive away and on a summers day wouldn't be a bad walk. All in all not a bad place to stop and stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at The Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Bkk_Aus,
Thank you for a great review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are so pleased you were able to relax at our retreat and enjoyed your stay!
Unfortunately, due to our positioning in a valley we are unable to get all of the free view channels for our guest rooms, however more channels are available in our Headlam Suite behind Poacher's Bar.
We really hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    223
    101
    41
    7
See reviews for
160
731
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Absolute heaven. Stayed for 3 nights recharging our batteries after a busy working Christmas. Ideal. A lovely hours stroll into Whitby along the beach. The choice for breakfast is absolutely fantastic and really tasty. We ate in the Poachers Bar and the food was delicious and fresh. The staff are all absolutely brilliant and very professional without being patronising. No phone reception, but for me was perfect, but free wifi available all over hotel. The deluxe rooms are well worth the money. I will definitely be back, sooner rather than later!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at The Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Sue E,
Thank you for such a truly fantastic review!
We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your experience at Poacher’s Bar and at breakfast and will definitely share your great comments with our teams!
We really appreciate your comments regarding your room and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at raithwaite on the two night Christmas package the staff are always very attentive the rooms where lovely well equipped clean and comfortable every thing is available to you. The banquet was a unique experience superb food . Breakfast was fresh delicious local produce very high standard eggs cooked fresh to order at the breakfast station . Christmas lunch again outstanding . A very special day relaxing we thoroughly enjoyed our time at raithwaite thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at The Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
sunbatherYork,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your Christmas with us here at Raithwaite Hall!
Our ladies and gentlemen truly appreciate your wonderful comments and are ecstatic you enjoyed your stay!
We hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at Raithwaite a few times now, due to the outstanding service each and every time, the delux and executive rooms are well worth the price , honestly this is a rereat worth a treat, the pool , spa area is fantastic although can get busy, breakfast is amazing ,
and evenings in the bar are so romantic relaxing and peacfull with the most outstanding service, every member of staff can not do enough for you and will do their upmost to make every second of your stay the best ever
all thanks to everyone for the best relaxing stays ever
when ever i can afford the break i beg to go here

Just one thing although i would reccomend to everyone please dont stay when i want to :) i want this remarkable place all to myself :)x

Room Tip: any with a balcony overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at The Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Ladyedith,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and for returning to our country retreat!
Our ladies and gentlemen really appreciate you inspirational comments regarding the service you received!
We are so pleased to hear you had a positive experience using our Spa and enjoyed your breakfast with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

this place is the biz 1 nights stay will stay 2 the next time room 5 star.. the staff the service 5 star.. the food 5 star.. indoor pool/spa the setting are all 5 star we had a deal dinner bed and breakfast nice walk to the beach .. will stay again you bet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at The Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
sean w,
Thank you for such a fantastic review!
We are ecstatic that you had such a positive experience at our unique retreat and will share your kind comments with all of our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We hadn't even left the car when Richard, one of the porters arrived to welcome us and deal with the luggage. This was just a one-night stay as a birthday celebration but we thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
Richard later showed us to our room and gave us a tour of the room which was very helpful.
All the staff we came into contact with were though very polite and friendly.
The resturant, food and service also excellent.
OK if being very picky, I'd agree that the pool area is a bit small and soom gets crowded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at The Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Rhodes169,
Thank you for such a great review!
We are thrilled you were so pleased with your stay with us and will definitely share your kind words with our ladies and gentlemen!
We hope you will visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for four nights over the New Year and really cannot put my finger on the reason for my slight disappointment. The hotel is modern, our room was quiet, clean, well appointed with a super bathroom and a nice view over the hotel grounds but really was too small to be considered luxurious. The staff were very pleasant and most seemed to be local to the area and happy to chat when they had time. We had dinner on New Year's Eve in the restaurant and that was fine but served at a bit of a gallop. However, breakfast I thought was disappointing. I have had better, fresher and more imaginative buffet breakfasts in quite low budget chain hotels and been served superb cooked breakfasts in small B & Bs, so really was expecting more than the unappetising fare on offer here. The layout of the dining room means that wherever you are sitting you have a constant stream of staff/guests to-ing and fro-ing past you as you breakfast, which does not make for a relaxing start to the day. I think the hotel needs to have a serious rethink about the layout of the dining room and consider offering freshly cooked breakfasts to the table. In all, I think that the hotel has potential, but it doesn't quite do it for me at the present time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at The Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
chrispHampshire,
Thank you for providing us with an honest review of your stay with us.
We are truly saddened to hear that you felt your stay with us was less than perfect as we hope that all of our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable time here at our retreat.
We have recently won an award for our breakfast from Quality in Tourism and also the Style Award from North Yorkshire Moors National Park Authority so we are honestly disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.
We truly appreciate your feedback and have passed on your comments to our teams to avoid any future issues, as we are constantly looking to improve our guests’ experience.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to change your mind in the future.
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars.With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby’s famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrivalThe local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raithwaite Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.