We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White House - Pub Food Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The White House - Pub Food Rooms to your Saves list
The White House - Pub Food Rooms
Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
1 review
“Fantastic relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights the view was marvelous the food was great and the staff were all friendly. It was the best stay we have had in whitby. We stayed in the deluxe double with balcony and what a fantastic view we had right across the golf course and looking out over the coastline and sea. It was well worth paying a bit extra for an upgraded room We would thoroughly recommend the whitehouse to anyone that is looking for somewhere to stay in whitby. We shall definately be going back again..

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    33
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean and friendly Hotel. Attentive staff ,as Arnie says we will be back

Eight of us stayed for weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience . The staff were really friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARFIELD BARNSLEY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just got back from Whitby on an night we would stroll on the tops and on to the white house for a great pint and a snack the meals where fantastic the service was first class we had beef &ham sandwich with all the trimmings it was all great we will call back next time in Whitby

Room Tip: just getting ready for christmas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly and courteous but also leave you alone when you're looking for peace and quiet. The hotel rooms (at least our twin room) was very large with all the features you want - including very comfortable beds, a good flat screen tv and a bathroom with a bath and a power shower. All immaculately clean and fully serviced everyday by the room service staff.

Endless piping hot water (but NB: to hotel owners - your huge hot water tank in the cupboard in our room had lost all its insulation lagging and the whole wall was hot to touch. This must be costing you an absolute fortune in wasted energy bills so you might want to get it looked at asap, It also meant that our room was too hot (some will love the tropical temperatures!) and we had to open the windows (even in the winter weather).

But that aside, I thoroughly recommend the hotel and it's choice of breakfast menu is great including a good standard "full English", vegetarian options, endless toast, poached eggs and last but by no means least - the great Whitby Kipper ;-). Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the room without the hot water tank (unless you love tropical heat) or a sea view, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held our wedding reception at the White House on the 30th of August and it was amazing. Set in such a beautiful location it was perfect to hold our special day here, which was made even more special by the wonderful staff at the hotel and by Linda and Dave the hotel owners, who from first meeting when starting our planning were so welcoming and friendly. The hotel it's self is very homely and clean. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which has a lovely balcony overlooking sandsend bay which was perfect, the rooms were comfortable, spacious and very clean. All of our family stayed over at the hotel and everyone was very impressed by how nice it was. The hotel staff were all lovely and so friendly they made us feel welcome and chatted to all the guests and unlike some places we have stayed, they all seemed genuinely interested to chat to us. The food at the hotel was beautiful home cooked food with big portions which left all out guests happy and content - out of our party of 33 there were no complaints I think that says a lot! Breakfast the next day was lovely with a good choice of food and drinks, from full English to cereals and fruit it catered for everyone's tastes in breakfast. Overall a really lovely hotel with amazing views, very clean, with friendly staff who made our stay extra special. Would highly recommend the hotel and we will defiantly be returning. We would like to say a big big thank you for helping us create an amazing memory.
Sam and olivia

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a retired couple we were looking for a peaceful,quiet,comfortable and attentive experience. Primarily a Pub with accomodation we enjoyed our short 2 night stay. The room was excellent with a double and single bed comprising the sleeping arrangements. The en-suite was fine and the entrance space very useful for cases and clothes.

The breakfast was good however we were out all the time so did not experience lunch or dinner although the menu looked good.The location overlooking the bay and golf course was beatiful.

The proprietors were very helpful,attentive and professional. We will return again. I hope the ambience remains as it is and does not go down the road of live music in the bar area.

Thank You for a restful stay Peter & Pat Thompson

Room Tip: A view over the golf course and coast line is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Returned for a couple of days and found that there were new owners, always a risk from previous experiences but NOT this time. Both Linda, hubbie and staff were fabulous, very accommodating and friendly. We stayed in one of the annexes which are situated a 'stones throw' from the hotel and we found the accommodation very comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and TV. The bathroom had a shower in the bath with loads of hot water. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed the food, we asked for a variation on the potatoes on the menu and this was no problem whatsoever. Breakfasts fit for a king and delicious kippers. Your staff are a credit to you and Demi is particularly sweet and any employer would be proud to have her. Good luck with your new venture and we hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House - Pub Food Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House - Pub Food Rooms

Address: Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House Hotel is a family run hotel that overlooks Whitby Golf Club and commands amazing views along the Yorkshire Coast towards Sandsend. The House has 11 bedrooms, a restauant serving local produce from moor and sea as well as having a relaxing welcoming bar which is popular with both guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The White House - Pub Food Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House - Pub Food Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.