We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget fish & chips!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humble Pie 'n' Mash

Humble Pie 'n' Mash
163 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4AS, England
+44 1947 606444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 149 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Cash Only, Seating, Takeout
Description: We are a small unlicensed eatery, serving just pie mash peas and gravy. We welcome dogs and their owners but have a dog free area upstairs. We don't have any Alcohol, but you are more than welcome to bring your own or pop over the road to the Endeavour pub who will let you bring a nice cold pint back to your food.If we do something wrong or make a mistake, please let us know or contact me through the messaging service and i will put it right.I believe you should be able to have a filling quality meal for a decent price.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Forget fish & chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I've meant to go into the humble pie 'n' mash shop for several years and finally did today. Exquisite pastry!! We ordered 5 different pies; every1 was fab. The sausage& blackpud is unusual, the steak& stout amazing, the chicken& cider looked good. We bought homity pie to takeout & again very different to any homity pie that I've had before. And, it was great to take my yorkie in with us; many, many thx for being dog friendly. Will never leave Whitby again without a good supply of pies from humble pie 'n' mash. Good job I don't live too close by or I would be 20 stone:)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    237
    43
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

You get what you'd expect - a good pie with some mash and peas. What more could you ask for for £5.99? The desserts are tasty too.

The theming of the restaurant is 'World War 2' style, with 1940s music playing, ornaments lining the walls and on tin plates.

Great for both vegetarians and meat-eaters. Although we didn't bring a dog, we appreciated the policy of allowing dogs in the ground floor.

We'd love to come back next time we are in Whitby. It can get very busy as it's popular!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Granny would be proud!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you don't want fish when you come to Whitby, then have a pie, because you will struggle to find somewhere like this anywhere.
A party of 12 (mostly couples) we arrived without a reservation at 7.40 (we found out that they shut at 8), they were full but said that if we came back at 8 they'd stay open for us, but service would be longer as they'd have to cook from scratch. No problem, over the road, swift pint and back at our pre-appointed time.
We went upstairs and managed to fill the front room ourselves, having looked at the menu back downstairs to order, not sure if this was just because it was after hours or whether that is the plan, but so what?
There's no alcohol licence, but when we asked we were told we could fetch a drink in from over the road, great stuff.
I went for steak and stout after some deliberation (I wanted to try most of them but thought that would be fattening), when it turned up I wasn't disappointed. It was very tasty and went down a treat. It comes with mash and pies and whilst the mash was a little lumpy for my liking, I'm quite fussy about mash so compensated by eating the mash first and then finishing with the pie! The food comes in old style tin dishes which is an added touch and upstairs there is a wartime theme with wartime music in the background.
I finished off with a mug of a camp coffee which was so nice I got home and bought a bottle!
All pie meals are £5.99 and worth every penny, so when you're fed up of fish then come here as you won't find it on the menu!
I would say that this place is constrained by the dimensions of this very old (17th Century) building, so the trip up and downstairs is tight, steep and low. Also the one toilet is at the foot of the stairs, which does lead to having a queue at when it's busy.
These are minor things and really shouldn't distract from a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St.Annes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

If you love pie, then u MUST visit here :-) the pies our homemade n taste so good you will never want to eat another pie unless its from here. The service is super and the building its self is packed full of local history making your overall experience a true delight

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Humble but a great feed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you love a great pie then this is a great place to stop for a feed in Whitby.
Pies are served in a large metal plate and has a crisp suet crust - making it very yummy, crisp and flaky.
Lots of traditional flavours, plus ones that you would only find in the UK - Haggis 'n neaps, Beef and black pudding etc.
Being Australian, I am a big pie fan - the fare at Humble Pie 'n' Mash met all expectations.
Great mashed potato, gravy and peas (don't worry they are not mushy peas!) to accompany the pies. All in all a great meal and a great little cafe.
The nicer part of the shop is downstairs but plenty of seats upstairs.
Can get very busy during the peak lunchtime period.
Enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humble Pie 'n' Mash also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Humble Pie 'n' Mash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humble Pie 'n' Mash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.