We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humble Pie 'n' Mash

Humble Pie 'n' Mash
163 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4AS, England
+44 1947 606444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 177 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are a small unlicensed eatery, serving just pie mash peas and gravy. We welcome dogs and their owners but have a dog free area upstairs. We don't have any Alcohol, but you are more than welcome to bring your own or pop over the road to the Endeavour pub who will let you bring a nice cold pint back to your food.If we do something wrong or make a mistake, please let us know or contact me through the messaging service and i will put it right.I believe you should be able to have a filling quality meal for a decent price.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Step back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As the name suggests only pies but what great pies they are. Place is done in old fashioned style playing old music. Good food, our first visit but won't be the last

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    222
    38
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

the food at humble pie is first rate, great surroundings,excellent value for money,if you want traditional food,and a good alternative to fish and chips

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best value and quality eat in Whitby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visit Whitby many times a year but have never reviewed one of our regular eateries.The H pie and mash shop is a gem of an eatery as a change from the many fish and chip shops and cafe s etc in wonderful Whitby.Wonderful home made pies to suit all tastes with smooth mash and peas and gravy all served in retro metal bowls with mugs of tea or coffee.not the biggest of cafe s but one of the best for food value and quality all served to a background of WW11 music.A must to try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Quirky and Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Quirky - takes you back in time

Quality - Not somewhere to go if you dont like pie, but i must say these are the best pie's ive tasted in a long time. Sorry mum ut the pastry even beats yours. As for the filling all i can say is mouth watering. If i hadent been so full i would have loved to have tried the Jam rolly polly the guy on the next table was eating.

All in all a perfect combination

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely atmospheric gem in Whitby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Eaten here three times over the last 18 months, whe4n visiting Whitby, and I have to say it is a real treat. The pies are great and between the family we have tried them all.
The dog loves the coal fire and it is hard to beat after a bracing walk.
Staff are pleasant and service is always prompt.
Kids love it and there are plenty of interesting things on display -
A lovely atmospheric gem in Whitby

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humble Pie 'n' Mash also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Humble Pie 'n' Mash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humble Pie 'n' Mash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.