We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time, lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dolphin Hotel
Save
You added The Dolphin Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Brixham UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous time, lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a fantastic 4 days in Whitby at the Dolphin Hotel. Liz & staff really welcoming, food very good and the best breakfast we have had anywhere. Nothing is too much trouble. The location is so central for everything, you are right in the heart of the town rather up on the top. The hotel has been finished to a nice standard and felt homely and welcoming. Well done Liz & Martin, we will be back as soon as we can allocate some more time.

Room Tip: We had Room 2 which is the double aspect room with views up the river and out to sea. Good views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    25
    15
    2
    26
See reviews for
19
72
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Came here every day on our trip to Whitby just to sit in the window for the view . Nice food , drink and staff very friendly thank you could sit and look at the view all day if I could !!!!!! We ate here on afternoon and food was ok

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dolphin after arranging to meet up with old friends and have night out. The accommodation was excellent, breakfast was excellent. The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly. Liz, the proprieter was very friendly and made us feel at home. We will return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in Whitby for a few nights during the Easter holiday, stopping over on the Sunday night, alot of restaurants were closed so we were looking for a Dog Friendly place to eat. Passed the Dolphin then came back to it, how fortunate. The staff were great, brought the dog a bowl of water as soon as we sat down, didnt bring me a beer though!
The food was excellent, I had fish pie and my wife had Whitby Scampi both of which were excellent. The vegetables were spot on, not cooked to pulp as some places tend to do.
I would certainly recommend this pub/hotel as a place to eat when in Whitby and will no doubt go again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just had a 2 course Sunday lunch at the dolphin hotel! The food was incredible and so tasty! The portion sizes were amazing and the taste of the food divine! Vegetables still had bite to them which was great nothing mushy and unflavoured! The atmosphere was lovely and the hotel was very busy with people eating! The mature gentleman serving was a pure pleasure he was polite and friendly and just what you would expect In a waiter. Would recommend this hotel to anyone for a lovely meal!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a nice pork pie with mushy peas and a Thatcher gold cider all for around 5. 50. My husband had a chicken baguette and chunky chips. Lovely fire and great view of the Quayside. Close to the captain cook museum. Recommended for a good value lunch in Whitby .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have just stayed at the dolphin for two nights and was very pleased all round. The rooms are clean and well stocked with tea and coffee and despite a raw east wind and snow we were kept nice and warm. Breakfast is varied with a great choice and the Full English will keep you going all day!. The staff were all great, nothing too much trouble without being intrusive. The pub itself has had some major investment which shows in the quality of the rooms. If coming by car there is a small carpark just around the corner but you have to be quick to grab a space when you can. Book through the pub for best value. Would stay here again and recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.