We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day had by all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dolphin Hotel
Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 143 Whitby B&B and Inns
Pontefract
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic day had by all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We asked the Landlady of the Dolphin if she could cater for a party of around 27 people at very short notice for lunch after our daughter's wedding. The food was outstanding, everything hot and freshly cooked, we had no complaints at all from the guests. Service friendly and helpful. The Landlord and Landlady made the day very special for everyone. We would recommend the Dolphin to anyone and will certainly go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    21
    14
    1
    23
See reviews for
16
64
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I brought my daughter and grandchildren to the Dophin a few years ago. It had a stench of chip oil, beer and sticky carpets. The back room was nice with the wooden panels on the wall and the fire. The tables were tired looking and overall, food was the typical greasy menu. The Dolphin was in need of some love and care. How pleased I was when following the vanishing landlord and the close down of the Dolphin, it was then placed under a compleat refit and revamp. Each time I visited Whitby, more work was being done to this lovely, prime position hotel. Finally, it reopened.

Having booked to stay at the Duke, we decided to wonder down to the Dolphin for a quick drink and to check it out. Gone was the stench of grease and cooking smells. In its place was the lovely smell of open fires. Food was upgraded to a better standard and the wine was such better quality than it had been on our last visit. Decor, upholstery and carpets were very tasteful and the staff looked as though they were enjoying their jobs. Well done, we will visit again soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well there were 9 of us looking for lunch in Whitby i.e. 6 adults, 3 kids and 3 dogs… And having been turned away from everywhere in Whitby, we received a warm welcome at The Dolphin pub. Lunch was plain but freshly cooked, haddock and chips, and gammon and egg. Trad pub, log fire, friendly staff. They served a range of beers and ciders and some surprisingly good wine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a great meal New Year's Day ,we were part of a group of twelve and had a great meal and good service, Have not stay he but will next time in Whitby (the hotel has been completely refurbished) if you like a good British style pub this is for you

Room Tip: We didn't stay but will in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did not actually stay here for our two night trip to Whiby but so wish we had! Like many of you I bet you remember the 'old' Dolphin - the proper dive!! Well, the dive has well and truely been refurbished to very high standards, not only the bar area but also the bedrooms. We were lucky enough to be shown around a couple of the bedrooms (thanks Liz) and the picture above is not in any way representative of the excellent quality.
The menu looks good, the bar is well stocked with cask ales, it has a lovely cosy fire burning in the corner, it is clean etc etc such a refreshing change.
We have already bought a two night stay as a present for a friend's birthday present and we, ourselves, will definitely be staying there in a few months time. Once the word spreads, this is very quickly going to become an extremely popular place to stay in Whitby.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a dual aspect over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tewkesbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Only drank & ate here over xmas the best place in whitby , what a turn around from previous owners spotlessly clean food & drink excellent , will be stopping there this year , thanks to Martin & liz for there hospitality

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed in room 1 at the Dolphin Hotel from 14-12-2012 until 16-12-2012
We have visited Whitby on many occasions and have been fortunate enough to stay in various excellent accomodations, however The Dolphin exceeded all that had went before.
Room 1 overlooks the harbour and bridge affording both great views and relaxation. Our room and en-suite was spaciouis, well decorated and immaculate, breakfast was the stuff of champions.
Staff inculding 'managers Martin and Liz along with Mandy (apologies for not having the space to name all individual members of staff) were fantastic managing to remain approachable, informative and welcoming without being overwhelming.
In the of Arnie "We will be back", see you soon Tom and Rosemary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Dolphin Hotel to your Saves list