We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring Caravan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitby Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitby Holiday Park
Save
You added Whitby Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Saltwick Bay, Whitby YO22 4JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Touring Caravan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Such a fantastic caravan park we found ourselves returning time and time again and this year have decided to try our hand at seasonal caravanning! Staff could not be more helpful,and guided us to our pitch and helped us to site the van. Reception staff great, good shop and excellent clubhouse.Shower blocks clean and tidy, cannot fault the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Whitby Holiday park and cannot wait to go back again in June. As mentioned in other reviews, all of the staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful, we have always found the accommodation to be very clean and tidy with some having nice views overlooking the coastline. There is everything on the site that you would possibly need for your holiday break. We enjoyed the club on site; fun for the kids, nice game of bingo and good entertainment. Had some lovely meals in the cafe. The location of this holiday park is absoloutley excellent we park the car up and hardly move it unless we need to go further out. A 15 minute beautiful walk along the cliff top to the top of the Abbey steps will lead you to the picturesque location of Whitby where there are cobbled paths and lots of little shops places to eat and pubs. Overall definately a place to stay if you go to Whitby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Whitby Holiday Park.
Entertainment was brilliant, Management and staff were really helpful.
Fantastic sea views from the cliff top.
Toilet and showers were really clean at all times considering how busy the park was over Easter.
I will definelty return again. Thank you for a lovey stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just returned from a very pleasant 4 night stay at the Whitby Holiday Park. The views where fantastic & location was great only a short walk into whitby. Whitby was a gorgeous liitle town , lovely shops & pubs loads of fish & chips shops & cafes. We walked to robin hoods bay from the site which was a fabulous walk its was a lovely day. the views where brilliant. Will definetley be back next year for easter again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our family had a lovely time at Whitby, the caravan was clean, comfy and warm, all the comforts of home. Great walk into Whitby, counting all the steps!!! The only downside was that we had to walk over the grass as no path to our caravan, as it was raining all night it was very muddy and water logged. Luckily we all had wellies!!! Very welcoming x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from another very pleasant 3 night stay at the Whitby Holiday Park. We have been using this park for breaks with our touring caravan for over a decade.
During this time we have seen staff and indeed ownership change but one thing you cannot change is the superb location; the views over Saltwick Bay are beautiful, in Spring and Summer sublime, and as Autumn approaches they can be truly dramatic.
The walk along the Cleveland Way, on which the park is located, either towards Whitby or Robin Hoods Bay is a joy.
We only use a caravan as an adjunct to our business which takes us all over the UK, preferring the privacy this offers as opposed to staying in hotels, so we are familiar with many other sites around the country, we also take frequent foreign holidays and so know what a view is too.
Some of the criticisms of this site are frankly silly. When one is paying such a small amount for a night’s stay (we have just spent £22 per night for a sea view plot) it is rather churlish to complain about plugs being missing (who took the plug? The owners desperate not to spend 20p on a replacement? Or perhaps another guest?) and on such a small site of course the hot water will be depleted when there is a number using the showers, let me assure you that at peak times this can happen in even the best hotels.
The site has a laundrette, a well-stocked shop, a cosy café, and a good sized licensed clubhouse. The reception staff are always friendly, helpful and accommodating.
I am not too surprised by some of the negative views expressed because unfortunately this is indicative of a certain breed of ‘caravanner’.
You’ll know the type!
They have just spent a ludicrous amount of money on their van or motorhome just so they can have kudos amongst their fellow saddos “I never use the Pickering route, Doris finds it picturesque but I’ve calculated I lose 2 mpg driving over those awful moors”.
So when you see a twenty year old Vanroyce rocking, with not only laughter, and ‘too many’ empty red wine bottles going to the recycle bin, that’ll be us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been here twice to stay in a friends static caravan, we love the location of the place and enjoy the walk accross the top of the cliffs and into whitby. We are all young and fit so are ok with this but think older people may struggle as the 199 whitby steps are at the end. This is not a nice walk when it is windy and rainy as we found out, thought we were going to get blew over the edge ! Didnt use any of the facilities on site apart from the club house once and we only stayed an hour as was full of old men eating chillis and trying to make us join in :-/ very random haha we would definalty go back though as we love Whitby !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitby Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitby Holiday Park

Address: Saltwick Bay, Whitby YO22 4JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitby Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitby Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.