We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sherlock Holmes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherlock's Coffee House

Sherlock's Coffee House
10 Flowergate, Whitby, England
(01947) 603399
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Coffee & Tea in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert
Description: This is a beautiful tea room in Whitby. The building is amazing, a warren of nooks and crannies that wind back from the street and are candlelit. Friendly service, excellent coffe, tea and huge, delicious cakes and sandwiches. The best cafe in Whitby.
1 review
“Sherlock Holmes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

An ardent fan of the character books movies this amazing cafe in keeping with Sherlock Holmes transfers you back in time with a menu as an added bonus even Mrs Hudson would be proud of.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    122
    26
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hope you like Pachelbel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We'd seen this coffee house while across the road in a diner, and were intrigued buy it's decor and decided to come back and investigate. It's a beautifully decorated (Victorian-esque) little cafe, with loads of nooks and crannies to hide yourself in. Initially we decided to sit upstairs by the window, but on finding a small child constantly kicking the furniture, we decided to go back downstairs and and sit in the back. It's wonderfully warm and cosy with antique decor, and is paradise for any book-lover, being surrounded by beautiful old hard-backed books.

We ordered a cream tea, hot chocolate and chocolate fudge cake, and it all arrived in around 10 minutes. All the cakes are home-made and delicious, and portions are very generous. My scone was huge, and oh-so-yummy. We would definitely go back again to sample more cake!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lemon drizzle heaven with no scrimping on portion size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Fab coffee shop with quirky interior and the most gorgeous lemon drizzle cake. Quiet half hour with book and tea and cake which was great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, Cleveland, UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Disappointed - no scones!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had visited Sherlocks before and remembered it being a fantastic little tearoom and snack place. We had a busy day and decided to go about 3.30 for afternoon tea, I was so looking forward to having the delicious scones and a nice pot of tea.
I was gutted that they had run out of scones and the cake array was quite poor too. I know it is not the height of the season, but to run out of scones when you specialise in teas seems a tad on the poorly organised side of things.
Not quite what I remembered when I discovered it last time we where in Whitby, it's till a quaint looking place and very interesting but did not fulfil our expectations this time, it also took ages just to get a glass of water and a black coffee, we waited about 20 mins for this!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowergate, Owner at Sherlock's Coffee House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I see you and the previous reviewer were together when you visited sherlocks so seems a little unfair to write 2 reviews stating the same thing??

Anyway, for the past few weeks due to adverse weather making business quieter than usual we have been operating on reduced hours, I.e closing between 3.30-4.00, therefore we would not put fresh cakes and scones out near closing time as they would go to waste!

However we are now running on standard opening/closing times so there are scones a plenty and fresh cakes and muffins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Not quite what I had remembered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We'd been to this place before a few years back and enjoyed the visit so thought we'd stop here for a teatime snack this weekend. the cafe still looks the part and is wonderfully decorated with lots of old clutter that make it a fascinating place just to be in, but sadly the service wasn't brilliant. The staff were friendly enough, but given the menus stated that cakes, scone etc were made all day long on the premesis, it was a tad disappointing to be told scones were off and weren't coming back on for the rest of the day. This being 3:30 in the afternoon is I think a major logistic problem for the cafe with a slender menu, cream tea being missing before you've even got to 4pm tea time I have a hunch hit a lot of clients as unexpected.
What was left was about 3 cakes in the window, of which none really appealed.
The ordering seemed a bit strange too. There are servers bring food/drinks to the tables but to order you have to go back to the counter by the door. And then once we'd decided that there were no snacks we wanted so it would just be a drink, once ordered you then had to go back an wait at your table for 10 minutes. we'd only ordered a coffee and a glass of tap water, so the wait seemed excessive, and I had to go back to the counter to get the water as my wife needed it to take pills. to be honest we would have moved on straight away but needing the water I thought I'd get a cup of coffee as it would have been a bit of a cheek to just ask for water to take pills and then leave without buying anything.
So, the positives are it's a lovely little place with friendly staff,and if you get it on a good day it'd be delightful. Sadly we got it on a bad day and it was just frustrating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherlock's Coffee House also viewed

 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sherlock's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherlock's Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.