We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Autumn Leaves Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Autumn Leaves Guest House to your Saves list
Autumn Leaves Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were given a warm welcome by Jan, Dean and Rufus. Our room (no.3) was so comfortable and warm, it even had full bathroom toiletries! The breakfast was beautiful and served hot, Richard had kippers and said they were the best he'd tasted. Both Jan and Dean (aka Christopher Dean) took time out to have a chat with us. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning again. Would definately recommend this B & B .

Many thanks Jan, Dean and Rufus
Lesley and Richard - Sunderland

Room Tip: Room 3 looks over to the Pannet Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
101
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in whitby on many occasions. Chose autumn leaves as it was dog friendly and had good reviews we were not disappointed. Owners were friendly nothing was too much trouble. Spacious king size room spotlessly clean nice breakfast good value we even stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After staying there in 2012 I discovered they were pet friendly (dogs).

Firstly though if you want to be 10 minutes from the harbour and a great working port and beach, then this is a great place to stay if you want to take your hound along.

Don't get me wrong, just because people can take their dog along it doesn't mean the place is hairy, smelly or dirty. It's very well kept and fresh. The rooms are spotless and very roomy. With en-suite in all. Large amounts of storage too if your staying for longer than a weekend.
Breakfast is not fussy and old favourites are readily available. Fry up, poached eggs and other main dishes are available of the menu. All cooked up as soon as you sit down. There's toast, cereals, fruit for starters as you'd expect before the main course and of course your tea, coffee or fruit juice.

The area around and in Whitby is full of attractions and places to go. Plenty of pubs and restaurants to go with great drinking and food. Plus any fish dishes you have were caught that morning. Whitby comes alive at the weekend so make sure you reserve or get in early to a pub.

All in all, Autumn Leaves helps you have a great stay over night especially with being able to take along your dog. Fabulous. This is a husband and wife team and they're there in the morning to chat with. Great hosts

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend's stay in Whitby at Jan and Dean's marvellous and comfortable guest house. Our room was decorated and maintained to a high standard, luxurious deep bath in the en suite with nice toiletries and separate w.c. Tea, coffee, tv, hair dryer were all on hand. Situated less than 5 minutes walk from the town centre with easy access to the old town and harbour. Breakfast leaves you well fed to say the least, with a range of cereals, berries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, tea, coffee and full English fry up to set you up for the day. Next time we stay I hope to try the local kippers!
Heartily recommended for a comfortable relaxing stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed one night at Autumn Leaves and could not fault this B&B. Jan and her family were very welcoming and breakfast was lovely (enlivened by sneaky visits from Rufus the dog). The B&B is well located within five minutes walk from the seafront and across the road from a beautiful park. This is the place to stay when visiting Whitby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Myself & Partner have just arrived home from a perfect 2 night break in Whitby, were we stayed at Autumn Leaves Guest House. Our welcoming was so warm from Ruffus (the dog) & Jan. We were shown to our room which was lovely and decorated to a high standard. The B&B is in walking distance from the harbor, pubs and restaurants. I would defiantly recommend this B&B to anyone who is wanting to stay in Whitby. Thank you Jan & Dean for making our stay at Whitby that little bit more special, we will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: Dont waste time looking at other B&B's this one is just PERFECTTTTTT ... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Autumn Leaves. We stayed in room number 2 which was advertised as a small double, but we didn't find it small at all, it was decorated to a high standard, very clean and welcoming with a lovely comphy bed. Breakfast was plentiful with lots to choose from and as much tea,coffee and toast as you could possibly want. I would definitely book again when next in Whitby and would most definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Autumn Leaves Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Leaves Guest House

Address: 4 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Autumn Leaves Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autumn Leaves Guest House enjoys a convenient position in Whitby overlooking Pannett Park but also close to the café’s and bars on Flowergate. Autumn Leaves has recently undergone a complete renovation and has been tastefully decorated for your comfort and enjoyment.There are 3 double rooms, one of which is available as a family room. All rooms have hospitality trays, hairdryers and TV’s. Additional items such as wine glasses, iron and ironing board are available on request. Your breakfast is served every day between 8.00am and 9.00am in our beautiful Oak paneled dinning room, on cold days the roaring log fire is lit during breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Autumn Leaves Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Leaves Guest House Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autumn Leaves Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.