We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number One” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hadleys Fish Restaurant

Hadleys Fish Restaurant
11 Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
01947 604153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 149 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, British
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Brotton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Number One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been going down to Whitby for several years and don't go anywhere else for our fish n chips, if we can help it. Getting in was always a concern because they had such a good name but they have now extended and very well too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    141
    37
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top form again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've eaten at Hadleys for around 13years now. Usually very good, but slightly less so on previous 2 visits. Now back on top form. Fish was superb and covered with light delicious batter.Chips also very good. Only continuous weakness is their baked beans which are bland. Why don't they go for a decent brand like delicious Bransons beans?

Otherwise excellent and would strongly recommend Hadleys overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best fish and chips in Whitby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Me and my family went to hadleys last week for our dinner it was so nice my son had the sausage n chips n me n my husband had the haddock and chips we had the small portions which weren't really small and my son who is very fussy ate every last mouthful we really enjoyed it n will be back again soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great Fish and Chips. Every time I've been here the fish and chips have been 1st class. Fish,chips tea bread and butter it's just a pity they don't do take away anymore.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worst fish & chips of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were really disappointed by atmosphere in the restaurant the quality of the food. When we arrived we thought that the quality of the food would make up for the looks of the restaurant. That was wrong. The fries were so greasy that we weren’t able to eat them (apparently the oil wasn’t hot enough when they were cooked) and the cod tasted boring. The Haddock fish was slightly better, but still nothing special. We were really disappointed. Our recommendation: STAY AWAY!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hadleys Fish Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hadleys Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadleys Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.