We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appauling, dirty, abusive owner.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Esplanade Hotel

The Esplanade Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
The Esplanade Hotel
2 The Esplanade, Whitby YO21 3HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appauling, dirty, abusive owner.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

On arrival in the room we noticed brown spots on the duvet that looked like coffee, and hairs in the sink. The decor was drab and dated, headboards worn, 1960s style carpet. On checkout morning we were told the incorrect checkout time my a chambermaid who had clearly misunderstood my question due to a language barrier. On returning from breakfast we were screamed at by the hotel owner for arriving back too late, who told us she had the conversation on security cameras and that the error was ours. (Strangely this tape wasn't produced). We were then informed that our things had been packed up in our absence, some merely shoved into plastic bags including our bank cards and phone sim cards. Expecting it to be in our room we went upstairs to collect it to find the room empty, came back downstairs to find our things in the lounge. The idea of a stranger rifling through our person possessions (including underwear) was quite distressing, and the appallingly abusive way we were spoken to my the owner, especailly as we had just attended a funeral of a close relative of mine and was still in the early stages of grief - I was on the verge of tears when we left) would have ruined our weekend had we not taken a quick walk round the corner and found a lovely, clean, BnB with a delightfully friendly owner. Give this place a very wide birth, pop round the corner to South Terrace and stay at The Town House instead!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
19
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in Family room 14th August 13. The hotel looks like it has been totally refurbished and everything looks new. The family room was spotless with a brand new walk in shower. Double bed with a double bunk bed. Only thing missing was a full length mirror for the girls, could be put on inside of wardrobe doors . Full size kettle with more than enough tea coffee and milk. Slept well on very comfy beds. Had the option to have a lie in and take breakfast in the owners Quarterdeck restaurant which is 5 mins walk away adjacent to the pier with great views. The breakfast is one of the best I have ever had for with good quality, variety and stacks of toast, and top ups or juice, tea and coffee. It was trully scrumptious, with great service and very hot. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the hotel and its sister Quarterdeck restaurant and we will definetly be back, and even its just for a day trip, and will arrive early enough to catch the breakfast at the Quarterdeck.

Room Tip: Clicked swimming pool, but cannot uncheck this, as hotel does not have a pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

excellent simple family room. excellent room, the shower lovely warm. good and hearty breakfast. great location. excellent value for money. the hosts and staff were lovely. we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from 2 Night's @ Esplanade Hotel.

We arrived there on Monday 5th August , We met Mrs Dunne unexpectedly when we arrived as we pulled up in the car and she assisted me with parking in the back street behind, I assumed she was a local resident as another resident near by helped too, when we checked in Mrs Dunne was there. From the first minute we were made welcome.

We went to our room (Family Room ) as there was my Fiancee and my Step Son. Room was extremely clean and well presented, matching and fresh bed linen, clean and spotless Bathroom also.

Breakfast next morning was good, could have been tiny bit better as the bread was dry and I pointed that out to the Girl who was assisting with Breakfast and she duly changed it straight away.

We had no hot water in our room ( 5 ) when I mentioned it to Mr Dunne he came straight away and looked at the boiler, Room 5 that wasn't looked after by the main Boiler, we were moved to a room upstairs (10) that was fine ; A problem is only a problem if nothing is done about it and
Mr Dunne acted straight away and also offered Myself and My Fiancee and Step Son a free meal down at the Excellent Quarter Deck Restaurant which they also own down town ; We didn't take him up on the offer as we had our day planned out for yesterday but went down today for a free meal . We had not eaten there before and didn't want to take the Mick and have a £7-10 meal as I didn't want to push it and just asked for a Toastie or Jacket Potato , we all had Haddock and Chips which were amazing

Mr Dunne also helped me this morning when I needed a Car Garage before we came home .

This is an excellent Hotel and Service , thank you for everything .

First Class and will recommend you to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

once a gain we have returned for our yearly outing, Just gotta say thanks Toni and steve for a very pleasant weekend , rooms were tops along with breakfasts!! All the staff at the quaterdeck were really good , all the lads enjoyed themselves thoroughly and as you know we will be returning next year, nonce again thanks very much for a good weekend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers, we stayed at The Esplanade for 2 nights but wished we'd booked an extra night as didn't want to leave! Upon arrival we were lucky and managed to park just a few metres from the hotel on the street, they have 2 parking spaces on the front of the hotel, the other parking is on the streets and does get very busy but is free. We were early checking in but our room was ready, we were greeted by Thomas who was very polite and very welcoming and we were shown to room 1 which was at the back of the hotel,nicely decorated ,double bed and a set of bunk beds,what looked like new laminate flooring and newly fitted bathroom suite, the shower was huge...however we soon realised our key stated room 2 ,we had been upgraded! Thomas came back and we were shown to room 2 at the front of the hotel, it blew us away, it was huge! A double bed & 2 sets of bunk beds, lovely big bay window which you could just see the sea from ,there was a small table & 2 chairs in the bay & plenty of wardrobe & drawer space, comfortable beds & lovely crisp white bedding & towels & there was a large television on the wall .This also was newly decorated with new laminate flooring and newly fitted bathroom, the power shower was excellent...huge cubicle & always plenty of hot water! Breakfast can be taken in the hotel (from 8am I think) or you can go down to their seafront restaurant after 9am which is only a short walk past the whale bone & down the steps, we chose this option both mornings & service was second to none, we were again greeted by a smiling Thomas he couldn't do enough for us! We had the full English breakfast , 2 rashers of bacon , egg, 2 sausages, hash brown, beans, tinned tomatoes, mushrooms & 2 slices of toast, we all had orange juice & then tea/coffee & were offered re-fills , plenty to eat & drink! The toast came with a great selection of jams & marmalades, good quality food & I can't complain about any of our stay just wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Our room was clearly for larger families but do ask for an upgrade you never know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a lovely weekend only problem was bed sliding on the laminate so kept loosing pilliows but nice place staff were lovely and helpful too couldn't fault it in anyway would recommend it and go again it was central to everything and that is always ideal too

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: 2 The Esplanade, Whitby YO21 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.