We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of York House Caravan Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added York House Caravan Park to your Saves list
York House Caravan Park
Hawsker, Whitby YO22 4LW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at a cost of £68.00 which I think is too expensive.
Our welcome was very friendly, we were shown where to pitch and then left alone for the rest of our stay which was nice.
The site was well located and not far from the beach by car - 10 minutes, on foot about an hour and a half, this was a nice flat walk.
The downside was the noise from the pub when our children were trying to sleep.
Also the men's toilets were very smelly, my husband said that all the air vents were blocked so this created mildew everywhere.
Also when I was trying to have a wash with my children on Sunday morning around 10/10.30am the cleaning lady was in there when it was very busy with people trying to get their morning wash, it was strange because she was in no hurry (could this not have been done later in the morning?)
When we were washing up they ran out of hot water about 10.00am.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The site itself is really lovely if a little pricey at £25 per night. The staff were incredibly miserable. On arrival we were shown to our pitch and was told to keep the dog on the lead at al time - fair enough. He kept driving past every 15 minutes or so just to check. At one point the dog got tangled up in the guy ropes so I undid the lead to untangle it and he was straight there saying we would get thrown off if she was off the lead again. The next day we were joined by friends who were told to park their car in a specific location. This was difficult because his own car was stopping her from doing so. He was really unfriendly and told her he'd let her tires down if she didn't do as he said! I really don't think he was joking. Was not made to feel welcome at all. Also it adertises all day food but when we wanted something to eat in the afternoon we were told the chef didn't start till 5pm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Decided last minute to visit area and meet up with old friends. Checked on "I know Yorkshire" website which gave a price of £10.00 per night for the intended date. early august. I contacted York House caravan park who confirmed they had vacancies, silly me I did not think to check the price directly with them and on my arrival I was told it was £25.00 for the night plus extra for my dog. I explained that this was not the price given on the web site. After negotiation the site manager was professional in his manner and honored the web costings. They found me a great pitched which had the most wonderful view. John the Hungarian was most helpful, making sure that I knew where everything was. The hookup point was quite a distance from the pitch but he loaned me an extension for my hookup lead. A later search the staff conducted themselves of the "I Know Yorkshire" website brought up the same £10.00 charge per night. Overall the team at York House Caravan Park went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure I was looked after.
The "I Know Yorkshire" website are displaying other campsite actual costs which makes York House CP initially look very favorable, however I suspect they may well receive lots of issues similar to mine, (see other reviews). I also notice on the IKY website that there is nowhere to leave comments or to contact them, so it seems that they are not that committed to providing an impartial overview. Would I use York House again?. As an independent female traveller, without a doubt I would, but not at £25.00 per night + add on's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Visited the site end of May, upon arriving found that the charges were £25 per night per pitch - even though the website prices said that it was only £20 per pitch. When I pointed out this error the guy just told me 'this was the price he was told' and that I would have to pay it.

My friend was also with us, and even though the pitch pricing is for 2 adults and 2 children he charged us an extra 4 pound per night for him as we had three adults. I thought he could have let us off as we didn't have any children and I felt that we had already been over charged.

For a three night stay we paid over 80 pounds. I had previously visited the site earlier in the year so had booked and left a ten pounds deposit. The guy couldn't find any proof of this and was unwilling to take ten pound off our bill until I showed him the receipt for the deposit, which I had luckily kept.

We were then took to our pitch by an older gentleman who explained the site rules rather abruptly and spoke to us as though he was shouting at us - we weren't impressed with his customer service skills at all!

Even though the site states that they do not allow groups of the same sex we were pitched next to a group of 6 young men. This wasn't an issue, as they didn't make a sound - until 3am every morning when they arrived back to the site after hitting the nightclubs.

The site also has a 'quiet time' policy which didn't really seem to go into effect at all. There were lots of large families on the site who seemed to think it was okay to allow there children to run around screaming until well past midnight every night. Maybe this is a problem with today's society perhaps?

The wash facilities weren't the best. The shower block was very smelly and there was no ventilation system in place which multiplied the smell problem. Although the facilities were free to use, there was never any hot water for showers after not very long.

It also seems bizarre that the tent pitches are the furthest away from this facilities block as these are the people who will use it. This isn't an issue until you need the toilet at night and can't be bothered to walk up the hill to the toilet block, so go behind the bushes and meet a number of other people there who have the same idea as you.

We didn't use the shop on site, however we did use the bar. The atmosphere was lacking somewhat but the food selection was good and was of good quality. You could take the food away in plastic containers too - which is something we did a few times - great idea! The pints however were lacking in quality. The 50p price difference (cheaper at the site) isn't worth it when your pint is rubbish!

Walk into Whitby took us an hour and a half. It wasn't particularly difficult and it was quite enjoyable. The route takes you to the top of the abbey - so you can walk down the steps and count them rather than having to walk up them!

Walk into Robin Hoods Bay (RHB) took us an hour, which was all on busy roads - however I am told that there is a route through the countryside on old train tracks which is safer. There isn't much at RHB but the markets and stalls are definitely worth a look when they are running - we found quite a few hidden gems! RHB gets very busy as it is only a small place, however if you use the pubs a little further inland (not directly next to the coast) you will find a better atmosphere and quicker service.

Hawsker, the village over the road is more of a hamlet! However, the pub, the hare and the hounds, is brilliant. Best pint and best meals we had all holiday (although we didn't have a particularly bad experience anywhere). The staff will go out there way to make you comfortable and the atmosphere is brilliant. Lovely little pub, however it is definitely worth booking a table for food!

The village also had a bus stop which serviced the local buses to RHB and Whitby. However, if there are more than three of you it is cheaper to get a taxi anywhere rather than the bus!

We are visiting the area again but using a different campsite as we weren't impressed by it at all.

I would recommend the site for larger groups/families who don't mind other screaming kids and large groups. Definitely not the site for couples and walkers.
The best part of the trip has got to be finding the little gem that is the Hare & Hounds!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was our second weekend away in our new tourer and was pleased to find somewhere still open at this time of the year. We arrived late on about 7pm to be greeted by the very friendly owner (with a GSOH) who helped my partner reverse the caravan onto the pitch as he is still a little unsure (free lesson!). He stayed with us untill he was sure we were happy with everything and showed us where everything was. The toilet and shower block were very clean. That evening we had a few drinks in the bar of the hotel which was quiet, due to the time of year but still very nice. I mentioned to the lady behind the bar how nice it was of the owner to help us like he did and she told us that was her dad. We got the impression from this lovely family run park that nothing is too much trouble. The daughter happily got us a local number to ring for a takeaway that evening which delivered promptly. Next day we woke to a glorious sunny day and again the owner and his wife were more than happy to show us the best walk into Whitby. 3 miles of beautiful scenery along the Cinder walk is a must. Later that evening we had a drink in the bar and when we enquired about the local pub "The Hare & Hounds" we were told the easiest way to get to it as its very dark in the area. The Hare & Hounds is one of those cozy pubs with friendly locals just wanting to tell you all the best places to go. We enjoyed Sunday lunch here, all homemade and well worth a visit. So in a nut shell the park is lovely, the family who run it are very friendly and more than helpful, and we cant wait to go back when its busier. Thanks for a brief but delightful stay :o)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

we have had our tourer on a seasonal pitch for this year and cant rate it high enough , thanks to steve and gill and joe ,this is the best site we have stayed on the site is friendly and very well run ,nothing is to much trouble .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I know the title may be strange but we could not relax on the site. As per a previous review we were told to park our campervan a certain way and there seemed to be lots of rules and regs. For such a big site there was a lack of privacy and everyone seemed to be on top of each other. It had more of a youth hostel feel.

We go camping to escape and there was just something abit strange about this site.

What I would say though is that the facilities are excellent. They are very very clean, the showers are warm (and there are plenty of them) and the staff are very helpful and polite

Nice site with good facilities but not for us (£50 for 2 nights)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to York House Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Caravan Park

Address: Hawsker, Whitby YO22 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your York House Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York House Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.