We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly b & b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudsons

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudsons
Save
You added Hudsons to your Saves list
30 Hudson St, Whitby YO21 3EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly b & b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having initially struggled to locate Hudsons this was instantly rectified by a telephone call when Mark went the extra mile to meet us in the centre of Whitby and guided us back to the b & b . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay Room was extremely spacious, very clean and homely with a large comfy bed. (we had room no.2)
The breakfast was cooked to perfection with friendly, helpful hosts who made our weekend complete .
Would thoroughly recommend Hudsons

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    33
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
139
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our first time to Whitby and first time to Hudson's and we will be sure to come back again. Laura and Mark were quick to respond to availability requests and Mark was waiting for us outside when we arrived to make sure we got parked ok (parked on the road with a £3 visitors permit for 4 days). We stayed in room 11 on the top floor which was modern, clean and had a very comfy bed (although next time we will try and get one of the bigger rooms as we had our 3 year old with us who slept on an air bed!). Breakfast was delicious in a very relaxed atmosphere. Both Mark and Laura were very helpful and friendly hosts and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hudson's.

Room Tip: Room 11 was on the top floor with a lot of steps up so could be an issue for some people. Also a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 6 for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was massive with an extremely comfortable bed, crisp White Cotten linen and a leather chesterfield in the corner opposite a flat screen TV. What more could you need.
We have stayed in 2 other B&B's in Whitby recently and also stayed at Raithwaite hall, this was so much better! The room was bigger, location more central and the service really friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was lovely and kept us going till late afternoon.
The new parking rules in the centre mean you can park right outside the door at a cost of £3 for up to 4 days which was great and so much cheaper than the car parks in the centre that many other B&B's rely on.
We will definitely be back and wouldn't stay anywhere else now.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My partner and I always come back to Hudsons for our seaside get away and yet again we have not been disappointed. We wake up every morning looking forward to the full English breakfast and go to bed knowing we will get a restful sleep in a very comfy bed in one of their lovely decorated rooms.
it is always a pleasure to stay at Hudsons, thank you Laura and Mark for giving us another smashing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have had a couple of nights in whitby and stayed at the Hudson recommended by a friend.
The room was clean and tidy , and Mark and Laura were great hosts, lovely breakfast great location
close to town. We will be staying again and will recommended to our friends

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just returned from another lovely stay at Hudsons. Great decor, clean, cosy, welcoming and friendly. Mark and Laura are the perfect hosts, attentive and helpful without being overbearing. Definitely the nicest B&B in Whitby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knaresborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

its pointless looking for somewhere else to stay in whitby when you have got hudsons.We have a weekend break in whitby a couple of times a year,and our first phone call is to mark and laura at hudsons.the atmosphere and friendliness of the place is superb.the rooms are well equipped and beautifully appointed.we have stayed in more than one room over the last couple of years and each room is exactly the same high standard.the quality of the breakfasts put egon ronay to shame.!! the location means you only have a 5 min walk into the town centre.mark and laura as usual are the perfect hosts,with anecdotes and banter bouncing off each other.this is the perfect place to stay whenever you are in whitby.keep up the good work.!!

Room Tip: mark and laura will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Address: 30 Hudson St, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudsons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.