We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,clean B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudsons

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudsons
Save
You added Hudsons to your Saves list
30 Hudson St, Whitby YO21 3EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly,clean B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Loved my stay at Hudson's...the room was great value, room on the attic level was bright, airy,and spotlessly clean. The couple who own the place are lovely, friendly and attentive and really make time for their guests. The full English breakfast was superb each morning...top quality and taste. All in all, well recommended for a stayIin Whitby, handy for the West Cliff area, but still only a few mins walk from the rest of town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    35
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
149
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coledale, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The room we had (#7) was large, airy and very comfortable - plus the windows open fully, which is a bonus if you like fresh sea air. The property overall is still being renovated and suffers from a lack of lounge/common room or a garden. Overall, we were not bowled over by this property but it was great value and we did have a very pleasant stay. The owners are friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Room # 7 was very spacious but on the 3rd floor (no lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've just got back from a 3 day break in Whitby as part of our silver anniversary celebrations. We found Hudsons a really pleasant place to stay - clean, well decorated and nicely finished and comfortable rooms. Laura and Mark were very welcoming and helped with recommendations of local places to eat lunch/dinner. The breakfasts were lovely, well cooked and plenty of choice. The location was good as well with everywhere within easy reach. We'd recommend Hudsons to anyone looking for a good value, good quality place to stay. The seagulls were a bit noisy at times but not a lot that anyone can do about that!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

One of the dangers of reading others views is that they might not share ones own tastes. This guest house is without doubt very good. We have no idea if it really is the best in town as we have never stayed in Whitby before, but it was certainly the No 1 rating that helped us to book it. So, was anything wrong? No, not really and it almost seems churlish not to fully echo other's views. The problem, if it is one, is that we don't entirely share them.

The welcome was great, Mark called us to ask when we were arriving and he met us out front where he helped us unload the car. There is unfortunately no dedicated parking and so one takes pot luck locally and can end up as I did driving around for a while until a space cleared a few hunderd yards away. There was never any doubt about parking though as there is also a surface car park at about the same distance.

The place itself is spotlessly clean and the decor in the rooms we went into anything but bland. Our bedroom room on the first floor was large with a dark brown carpet, black leather bed and chairs, black furniture with mirror doors, pink/red light shades and cushions, a large feature mirror and brown wooden slat venetian blinds to the bay window. These look effective on first entrance, but are just not practical as you soon find out they don't keep out the light and if you open the window (because it was hot and there was no fan) they rattled against the window frame and kept us awake. Really, some curtains would improve things no end.

The en suite was a reasonable size with a very large shower but with no fully useful shelf (there was a strange one quite high up, but my wife being small could not reach it easily) or towel rail and no hooks apart from two on the back of the door, clothes went on the floor, towels on the hooks, toiletries on the floor.

Back in the room the only hanging to be found was in the wardrobe. No dresser, just a chest of drawers postioned by the door. To dry her hair and put on make up, my wife stood on the other side of the room in front of the full length mirror but there was no nearby surface on which to put things.

Breakfast is selected the night before from a menu provided in the rooms and were fine, tasty and everything one would expect. Maybe some cut fruit and yoghurt would improve choice a little. We did think the dining room was a little overcowded with furniture. There are two large sofas positined in the centre with the result that the tables are squeezed in around them. We really couldn't see much point to this as they just are not used from what we observed and in fact couldn't be used in the evenings as a lounge area as it was locked whenever we returned.

Enough niggles such as I have expressed, and really that is all they are as they affected us. The guest house is well positioned up the hill in the West Cliff area. It is a short walk down to the town centre (and not a terribly difficult one back either).

On the whole we enjoyed our stay. Laura and Mark made us feel welcome and our overall conclusion was positive albeit with the caveat that we have found equal and better establishments at a far lower cost only recently, just not in Whitby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We ve just returned from a wonderful 3 day stay in Whitby . Hudsons was our base and it provided us with a perfectly restful and enjoyable place to stay . The house is deceptively large but all areas are beautifully well kept and clean. Our room (14)was bijou but recently renovated , decorated and furnished. It suited us perfectly . Breakfasts were fab, well cooked and tasty. Our hosts were friendly but not interfering. They have a great location with restaurants and bars within 5 minutes . I would recommend Hudsons to all couples looking for a good value short stay in Whitby

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First time we have stayed at Hudsons, and can only praise Laura and Mark for their hospitality. A Friendly, clean, contemporary place to stay that serves a great breakfast. Took our 16 month old toddler with us, who was also made very welcome. A really relaxing place, lovely and quiet in an excellent location in Whitby. Close enough to everywhere, while being far enough away from everything, if that makes sense. Would recommend a stay here without hesitation. Large spacious room, with two comfy arm chairs in a bay window. Spotless en suite with shower. Nothing negative to say. Hope to be back some time soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at Hudsons last week for two nights with my daughter. We had booked a kingsize room as they don't have twin rooms. Upon arrival we were given the choice of either the kingsize or two double rooms at no extra cost. Mark and Laura are very friendly and have a delightful baby, Mark offered us first class advice about where to eat and places to visit. We are into food and as such wanted somewhere nice but not ridiculously expensive; his suggestions were bang on The breakfast was first class and the recently refurbished rooms were lovely. Very comfortable beds and nice bedding too. We struggled to park on the first day but not at all thereafter. I would definitely go back, it was very clean and the fixtures and fittings were of a high standard. Well done Mark and Laura and thank you, we enjoyed our stay
!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Address: 30 Hudson St, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudsons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.