We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and always top quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blencathra Guest House

Blencathra Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blencathra Guest House
Save
You added Blencathra Guest House to your Saves list
13 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Back again and always top quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed with Ron and Joan again 30th September 2011, just for one night sadly, as we could happily spend weeks here its so homely and welcoming.
Also with us two family dogs.
As usual a warm welcome on arrival and a lovely room we have not stayed in before at the front of the property, we have stayed in just about everyone so far and they are all clean, well presented, plenty of tea making stuff and the bathrooms/ensuite are always clean, fresh and again well stocked with soaps, shower stuff etc.
Breakfast in a lovelly decorated room is always well orgaised and the home cooked food is great, cooked nicely, hot and tasty with no bother for slight adjustments to the norm.
Never been here without there being plenty of other guests who always have a good word for everything which is nice to see.
Great location to walk down into the old and new town that normally takes about ten minutes and a matter of about five minutes to get down onto the beach below where the sands are clean and fresh.
These folks and their property are a credit to Whitby and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Ron and Joan were life savers when, having arrived at our originally intended destination we found they had disregarded our booking, so we tried Blencathra instead as they had a vacancies sign.

Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple and we cannot thank them enough for a most enjoyable stay. Excellent breakfasts that set us up for the whole day, money for an icecream and a treat on leaving for the girls. If we visit Whitby again this is where we would choose to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

we stayed in room no8 with a brill view of the abby, room was spotless, Ron & Joan the owners where very friendly,the breakfast, was brill coffee and tea in room was well stocked,we could not ask for more what a great weekend thanks to the both of you.
we hope to see you again soon. Helen & Dave. from Grimsby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Just got back from whitby and stayed with Joan and Ron at Blencathra. A very nice and pleasant place . We had the top room number 8 what a fantastic view of the abbey. The food was very good and the choices were fantastic nothing was too much trouble for them. My wifes first time in whitby and she loved every moment. Whitby is very hilly but a taxi back to flat only £4.The rooms are very clean and tidy would recomend them to anyone

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We have stayed with Joan & Ron several times over the past few years, they are very genuine honest people who will bend over backwards to accommodate their guests, their rooms are always very clean and well presented, there is a wide variety for breakfast and any special requests are catered for. We always try and book the same room as the view overlooking the Abbey is quiet outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Not only is this guest house nicely presented and spotless, the welcome you receive from Joan and Ron is a delight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

There are many B and B's to choose from In Whitby. I picked Blencathra because Ron was one of the few who returned my email and because he charges 1/2 price for children under 12 and nothing for children under 5, which made it extremely affordable It is located amongst several dozen other B and B's, close enough to walk to the harbour and all the sites. It was immaculate, quiet, the breakfast was delicious and Ron and his wife are excellent hosts. Whitby is a quaint town with lots to see and do and an excellent place from which to explore Yorkshire.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blencathra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blencathra Guest House

Address: 13 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blencathra Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.