We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average for Whitby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie

Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie to your Saves list
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
10 - 11 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Above average for Whitby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice ambiance, good value deal ( two courses for two for £25) and gets an extra star for actually having more than fish n chips in Whitby! Mussels were excellent, lamb not quite so good. Staff friendly. Free wi fi too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I thought I must write and give our opinion as seeing one or two negative comments I wonder if these people stayed at the same place? ??? We have stayed at Harry's on a regular basis - the latest time in January. We have only ever experienced Excellence and thoroughly enjoyed it every time. The welcome from the owners, the beautifully appointed rooms,all having fantastic views of the harbour and Abbey - plus the fabulous food has us going back time and time again.... And we have very high standards, having stayed in some of the very best hotels worldwide.
As for value for money - I cannot fault it as we have paid much more for much less on many occasions, (one being the Waldorf Astoria £325 per night and rubbish breakfast) and had to pay extra on top for breakfast! So no quibbles on price. It's quality through-out. Looking forward very much to our next trip......

Room Tip: They are all nice, but the penthouse is the best with a separate lounge looking towards the Abbey -
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Birthday Treat for the boy, as always fantastic faultless food. Sirloin steak however you want it, either enjoy the experience of cooking it yourself on a stone or let the chef cook it to perfection.
Warning tho u may struggle to manage one of the irresistible deserts ;-)

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I really liked the stay I had a great nights sleep.
We came here for a "Romantic Night" checking out the old pubs and bars and some us time.
We were happy with the rooms that were very clean above what we experience in other hotels. Lovely Shower/toilet area and clean, no pubes!!!
A lovely view. We were situated in on of the Delux rooms looling over the harbour.
The hotel is in a central location so you don't have to walk miles to the centre of Whitby.
Now to be frank the location is noisy by the nature of the location and being above a Cocktail bar.
We went to Harry's lounge on Boxing day so people are out enjoying themselves and staying out late, you can't expect anything else in a room above a bar on the sea front next to the road.
I still got a good nights sleep I felt so relaxed.
No noise from other rooms.
Everything worked.
Good breakfast.
I would stay again and will.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Another chance find, and another good choice, although rather unusual when first viewed, being above the premises of a lounge bar. However, the welcome was warm and efficient, and we were escorted up outside steps to our spacious room, with a beautiful outlook across the narrow harbour to the ruins of the Abbey. Pleasure and commercial boats and fishing vessels entered and left the harbour frequently, which made for interesting viewing, and the gulls called out a welcome. The room was nicely furnished, the bed comfortable, with clean linen, and good bathroom. A small table and comfortable chairs were a bonus if one wanted to eat in one's room. Parking was not on-site, and I felt diffident about leaving the car on a nearby street, but we were reassured it was quite safe to do so, and so it proved. A most enjoyable visit, and close to all amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just spent two wonderful nights at Harry's lounge accommodation.
We stayed in the fabulous top floor suite with stunning views across the harbour to the abbey.
The rooms were very tastefully decorated to a high standard and although there is a large flat screen tv in the lounge area it was nice to switch it off, open the windows and listen to the sounds of the seagulls and the hub around the harbour..
It was all spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
The breakfast choice was excellent and prepared freshly to order.
They had even gone out of their way to cater for a gluten free diet.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Not sure what the other two rooms are like but can recommend the top floor suite3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a cocktail here on a "thirsty Thursday" when they are buy one get one free. We each had a mojito which tasted like half of it was rum, really nice.
The bar was clean, light and airy and a nice place to people watch.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie

Address: 10 - 11 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.