We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie

Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie to your Saves list
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
10 - 11 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Barnsley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at a cost of £400!! expected a lot more. Room was very clean and tastefully decorated but only had a standard double bed ! at this price I was expecting a King Size ! good view but only single glazing so a lot of noise. .The windows on the outside were very dirty .tea and coffee facilities in room but you had to phone to the bar for fresh milk ,if you could get them to answer the phone, as there was no fridge in the room it didn't stay fresh for long.
There is no facilities for residents to sit in ! If you just want a drink to chill for an hour there is no where ! Breakfast good except I had Eggs Benedict it was terrible! the muffin was rock hard the same with the bacon ,even though I was expecting ham! the waitress did not come back to us to ask if everything was ok ! I don't think we will be going again and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

A weekend away stopped of at Harry's very nice staff with good knowledge on wine and beer, come back the next day for a light bite and was very good, only had a baked Camembert and a mushroom risotto, the risotto was very good and it is very clear the chef knows his way around a kitchen, the baked Camembert (a easy dish) was served with two nice chutneys and warm bread ( not homemade but ok) but was very studded with fresh rosemary and garlic, very nice touch.

Virgin Mary very good!

Eve very funny and warming

Good point
Quality through out
No chavs propping up the bar
Very chilled and relaxed

Bad points
Menu could be better if maybe the chef would be 'let loose, because he can cook
Is a bit expensive but will worth it to keep some people out

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s. yorks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arrived in Whitby for the weekend early evening 16th August. Called in to Harry's Lounge bar for a drink and asked on the off chance if they had a table for two. They did. We chose 4 of the small meze type meals to share between us with curly fries on the side! For afters a small portion of choc fudge cake and ice cream. All were so flavoursome - delicious and great service. Will return when we next visit Whitby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in August with my partner and small baby , great room overlooking the harbour but just not child friendly... Not really suitable access with a buggy ect.. We wanted to book a table for dinner but were told they do not have hi chairs for babies !!! Come on guys £20 from Argos.... Great breakfast in the morning... If u have children and would like to stay... Avoid if possible...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were staying in what ended up being 2 of the 3 very beautifully furnished rooms attached to the bar, and so decided to stay for dinner, which did not disappoint. The staff during our whole stay were exceptionally friend helpful and accommodating.

The service excellent, food excellent, atmosphere excellent! It was a bit rowdy over the regatta weekend, but I was armed with earplugs!

Thank you Harrys... we had a great stay xx

Room Tip: The sea gulls can be noisy, but what do you expect being by the sea! all the rooms have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on a busy Saturday night, we had booked a window table and were told that sadly there wasn't one available we were a little disappointed but didn't want it to spoil our evening and the restaurant was very busy, we started with drinks outside as it was a lovely warm evening, the atmosphere is great and you have great views of the Abbey and St Mary's church. We ordered garlic prawns and Thai beef to share for starters and they were both amazing, for main I had steak served on a volcanic rock which you cooked to your liking which was perfect for us as I like mine rare and he likes it a bit more cooked so he just left it on the rock longer! He had pork chop and I have to say it was the best pork chop I've tasted, we even had a pudding not that we were hungry just because everything had been so lovely we couldn't resist, I had a trio of pudding and the creme brûlée which was one of the three was fantastic, he had a mixed berry cheesecake, we had coffee and our dessert in a table by the window which had become available. Everything was lovely and we can't wait for our next weekend in Whitby when we will definitely go back to Harrys Bar

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked this restaurant online prior to our arrival in Whitby , going with Tripadvisor comments. Our table was ready and upstairs beside a window as requested. Smashing menus, doing a sort of tapas thing but with seafood (obviously being at the harbour) and pasta, risotto etc. We plumped for the special , my hubby going for the steak cooked on a stone. I had sea bass on minted peas, balsamic dressing...I didn't fancy the twice deep fried skinny chips and asked for crushed new potatoes...no problems changing it at all....hubby didn't fancy salad or veg with his steak so staff offered him bread and butter instead...excellent trade off for mr flutterbyer who doesn't do healthy green stuff!!....lovely ice creams to follow...tea and coffee...superb. Wine of the month was a bargain at £18 a bottle..
Staff were great, 2 lovely girls who knew their stuff, efficient but never hovering...
All in all another great meal in Whitby....would certainly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie

Address: 10 - 11 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.