We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monks Haven Cafe

Monks Haven Cafe
148-149, Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
01947 604 608
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 176 Restaurants in Whitby
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Monks Haven Café you can sit, relax and watch the world pass by along historic Church Street through our bay windows while enjoying fine, freshly ground coffee or Yorkshire tea. We serve fresh Whitby crab sandwiches, fresh Whitby cod in a beer batter and a wide selection of desserts and treats from scones to lemon and ginger crunch. We are open 7 days a week and until late on Friday and Saturday evenings.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my visit here on a cold and dull day. We were made very welcome even though the staff were very busy and the food and drink were very good value. I can highly recommend this place and I look forward to visiting again when I next visit the area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    37
    9
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lunch time snack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Called in for a lunch time snack whilst on a 2 day break. Pleasant interior and staff, although had to wait a while for toasted teacake and welsh rarebit. Although basic snacks, they weren't particularly good and expected better from a cafe in a holiday area with lots of competition nearby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staithes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Steaks for Dracular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I revisited Monks Haven on Tuesday 19th March and ordered rump steak from the menu. The chef turned up at our table with 2 sirloin steaks which nearly covered the plate. For the same price. The steak just melted in our mouths and probably the best steaks we have had in a very long time. Even though we were full, Faye (The busy but curtious waitress ) persuaded us to have a desert. I had the home made apple pie which was absolutely delicious and my wife had Clementine cake, which she said was very very scrummy.
Although the cafe was busy when we arrived, Faye seemed to cope very well and deserved the tip we left her. Have already recommended Monks Haven to friends and family and would definitely recommend it to anybody visiting Whitby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Called in here on a cold dismal day and got a lovely warm welcome. Drinks were offered promptly before we had chance to look at the menu. A query about what sort of fish was on offer as fish and chips even got us the name of the boat that caught it! The ploughman's lunch would have fed several ploughmen and the wonderfully fresh cod and chips were served with bread and proper butter. The whole place was spotlessly clean and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - even going so far as to tell us where the seagull on the windowledge was purchased! Nothing was too much trouble for them. Will I go back? Definitely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Nice bacon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

came here for full english and i have to say that the breakfasts here are the best in Whitby, good price and very filling perfect start to a day! not had anything else off the menu but i would like to try something else the next time i visit this lil cafe

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monks Haven Cafe also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Monks Haven Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monks Haven Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.