We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special lunch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant
4 The Parade | Whitby, Whitby YO21 3JP, England
01947 600021
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A special lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited Number 4 to celebrate my father's birthday. It was perfect - Maureen had arranged a card to wish him happy birthday and the food was really, really good. All four of us enjoyed our meals in the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Although the restaurant is not right in the centre of Whitby it is not far away - there is parking outside or it can be reached by a nice walk along West Cliff, with the wonderful sea view. Don't let the short distance put you off, otherwise you will miss out on an excellent meal and enjoyable experience. We shall certainly return - it's worth the trip from Cambridgeshire!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    33
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great find courtesy of trip advisor. We opted for 2 courses for £20 and I chose the fillet of beef which was £5 extra. The food was amazing, my beef was full of flavour, I ordered it rare and it was perfectly cooked. The horseradish mash and roasted veg accompaniments were delicious. My husband ordered the chicken in white wine and cream which was served with veg and sauté potatoes - again all delicious . The deserts were also wonderful - we chose vanilla cheesecake and a baileys creme brûlée and a bottle of wine which cost £67 - great value for money. We would both highly recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate here for the first time on Saturday night, and will certainly be back again soon.
Both the food and the service were absolutly first class,the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.
We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our evening, and would highly recommend Number4 to anybody who wants to be guaranteed an excellent night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had my Cuz and his wife up for a holiday we have never taken them here we invited my friend and her partner and didnt want to go into town only up the road where my husband and I live we have been a couple of time we love it always a lovely welcome by Maureen Our Jacqui didnt know which white wine she would like so Maureen let her try the 3 we where looking at not many places would do that The food and service was excellent

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are in Whitby to celebrate our silver anniversary and booked to eat here when our original choice was unavailable - really glad we did! Great service and food and real value for money. The owner was lovely when we told her it was our 25th - gave us a card, put a sparkler in our dessert and even sang 'happy anniversary' to us - thanks Maureen! Do yourself a favour and eat here if you're in Whitby even if it's a bit outside the town centre, you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.