We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant

Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant
4 The Parade | Whitby, Whitby YO21 3JP, England
01947 600021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 177 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a small restaurant on the outskirts of Whitby so parking is no problem. Interesting menu, nicely cooked and well priced food and a lovely lady who looks after "front of house". Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    33
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Six of us visited this excellent restaurant on a Saturday evening.

We confirmed with the taxi driver that he knew the way,(as it's on the edge of town),he said "yes it used to be the vets" ,we smiled,from the previous reviews,we were confident we weren't going to be served a dogs dinner.

Once inside,we were very warmly greeted,and seated in the bar area to peruse the menu,free bread,dips and olives were brought as appetisers.

The order was taken and we were taken to our table,the restaurant had about a dozen other diners in already,25-30 being the max at a guess.

All of the food ordered was of superb quality and very well cooked.

The owners deserve every bit of their success,it had been a superb evening,and we will certainly return when next in the area,highly recommend to all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, restaurant lacks character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Booked here as we couldn't get a booking at Ditto. The restaurant is clean and presentable but rather lacking in character. The food however was very good and well priced and, within the limits of an uninspiring setting I felt the owners had done their best to make the dining experience special. The service was friendly and not rushed. We had a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A must seek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This little restaurant is tucked away on the West Cliff amongst a small parade of shops. It is well worth seeking out. There are around 10 tables and it advisable to book. Maureen the co-owner is very friendly and attentive. There is a varied menu and the food is of an excellent standard. There were some regulars in when my wife and I went which is always a good sign and the atmosphere was very good. If you are staying in Whitby it is well worth a visit - you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great restaurant with excellent food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were in Whitby for the weekend and picked this restaurant after reading the reviews here. We were not disappointed. The service and food were excellent. We were made very welcome and given Olives, Breadsticks and Humus to eat while we perused the menu. We both went for the Scallops followed by the Fillet of Beef. The scallops were lovely and washed down with a glass of very fruity Pinot Grigio. The Fillet of Beef was cooked to perfection and served with seasonal vegetables and a wonderful Horesradish mash. We shared a bottle of Pinot Noir with the main, keeping some for the cheeseboard which we had to finish our meal.

The service was attentive and unhurried. Nothing was a problem to them and we enjoyed our evening immensely especially as the great food was such great value. We will definitely be coming back here the next time we are in Whitby

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.