We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Five - Charlie!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Hotel
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
13-14 Royal Crescent, Whitby YO21 3EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High Five - Charlie!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed there twice now in last couple of months with missis and five yr old...yes some things need sorting, yes might not be best hotel in england, but charlies on it!! Carn't fault the welcome you get and the way you're looked after, great position, parking relatively easy, we go to whitby 3/4 times a year, this is the only place we'll be staying from this time on! high five charlie! See ya soon mate
Lee, Lisa, Keira

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    31
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
45
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at the Avalon Hotel from 09 - 12 Aug 2010 and without doubt it was the most welcoming and friendly place we have stayed in the UK!! We loved Whitby but we loved it more so for this fabulous hotel and the warm, happy welcome given us by the owner, Charlie, what a great guy. We arrived guests and felt we left friends. The room we had was recently decorated and overlooked the sea and was just stunning, all credit to Charlie and his wife for the fabulous decor. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and plentiful and really set us up for the days of walking around the North York Moors. All in all we thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to return next year. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Excellent service from both proprietors and staff.Breakfast wos absoultely amazing every thing you wanted in a english breakfast .Our room and the view was every thing we wanted.would recommend this hotel to anyone.good luck and thanks to you all for our wonderful stay.Pete and Mandy from Sheffield.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed at the Avalon with my husband, 2 children and my parents (in their 80s). All the staff were friendly, polite and efficient. Charlie, the proprietor made us all very welcome without being overbearing. His pleasant and kind manner helped us enjoy our stay and he was good with all the generations. The room was clean and there was sufficent space. The towels were changed with great frequency as was the bed linen. The breakfasts were tasty and ample and we appreciated how you could order something different every day. Charlie had advised me when making the booking that some parts of the hotel still needed some TLC but this did not detract from our stay and we could see that work was in hand. I think my Mum found the steps rather hard at times but our reservation was very last minute and I noticed that there were rooms on the ground floor and would ask for one of these and book earlier next time. The location was great with views at one side over beautiful gardens to the sea. As with most places in Whitby it's difficult to park in front of the hotel but this was no more of a prblem here than at other hotels. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire,england
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We booked at short notice on one of the busiest weekends.A big thankyou to the owner ,Charlie ,for ensuring we had a really great stay.OK the rooms need a bit of work, but are clean and comfortable, and undergoing renovation.Breakfast is excellent and the staff were very friendly and enthusiastic.Good position ,just a pleasant stroll into the town.Parking relatively easy, we found a spot almost immediately. We will definitely return and would recommend it.Thanks again Charlie, (from Max Clifford LOL)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Both my husband and myself had a couple of days off and decided on a quick 2 day break to Whitby. Found details of the Avalon Hotel on the internet and booked with no problems. The hotel to be honest is in need of some renovation, but this is in the process of being done. Never-the-less it is clean, comfortable and have breakfasts 'fit for a king'! The proprietor, Charlie, is a joy to know and all the other staff are very attentive. All in all we felt our stay in the Avalon was too short and look forward to going back in the not too distant future

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Thanks to Charlie for being a great host.....was a lovely, funny man!!! Thanks for making our stay very enjoyable. Would reccommend it to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 13-14 Royal Crescent, Whitby YO21 3EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.