We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Full English

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Full English
Save
You added The Full English to your Saves list
9 John Street, Whitby YO21 3ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
sunderland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

stayed 8th and 9th august, it does exactly what it says on the tin.clean comfortable good food nice host. near to all the attractions parking is a bit of a pain but this is whitby the weather was really nice for a change.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
125
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Full English is a pleasant place. It has very comfortable rooms with exceptionally soft beds. The owners are happy people with great customer service who know when people want to chat but also know when to leave people to it. The breaksfast is pretty perfect. Only problem we had on our visit was the seagulls being loud early in the morning but that isn't anyones fault but the gulls! It is good value for money and we'd happily go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Room excellent , hosts great , feels like being at home .First time in Whitby and what a great find .
very close to town, leave your car and walk.
Just had a superb breakfast , only dilemma is when do we come back!
thankyou

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have never been inclined to write a review before, but one night at "The Full Engish" B&B deserves my time.
From the moment we parked we recieved five star treatment ,nothing was a problem,for either host. We were shown the bedroom and made to feel totaly at home.
The breakfast has to be seen to be believed.
A high 5 to both Gary and Lyn,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Made this booking at last minute based on other reviews and was not disappointed by the whole experience. The room (room 2) was clean, well maintained and very comfortable. I stayed for one night and for the short time I was there I was made to feel very welcome by Lyn and Gary. Lyn was very helpful with offering me food to take away in the morning as I was unsure whether i was able to attend breakfast at the times stated due to work comittments. As it turned out i was able to wait until breakfast service time at 08:30 and it was more than worth the wait!! Great location and great hosts! Overall a very good stay and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

What can one say other than the hosts were fantastic-very down to earth and talk to you as if they have know you all your life. Nothing was too much trouble. As for the breakfast AMAZING lived up to the description and all locally sourced produce.
Immaculately clean and well furnished to a high standard. So close to all amenities. The only fault was the size of the room expecially the bathroom just enough space for one let alone two. We were fortunate to have had super weather but with a small window would have welcomed a ceiling fan!
This is a place we will definately stay at again, keep up the good work Lyn and Gary hope to see you soon Jayne & Martin.

Room Tip: If your looking for space in your room, request other rooms other than room 4, excellent in all man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We only stayed for one night mid week it is a small but spotless B&B and the owners are lovely making you feel very welcomed. We stayed in room 2 which was small but was very clean and the shower was lovely. We got parked outside the b&b on the street after been patient and driving around the block 3 times but could not moan as it is free parking. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice of fruit, toast, cereal etc and then a full monty breakfast will be returning again soon but it is cheaper to ring the b&b direct then going through late rooms or anything

Room Tip: Room 2 is compact but very clean room 3 is slightly bigger and has an arch way with a third single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Full English? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Full English

Address: 9 John Street, Whitby YO21 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 4 bedroom guest house. All rooms ensuite, 3 doubles,and 1 triple/double room. Hospitality trays in all rooms , award winning full english breakfast.Free on street parking , and off road parking for motor bikes. Early check in by arrangement.4 star rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Full English Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Full English, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.