We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts with the Most” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosslyn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosslyn House
Save
You added Rosslyn House to your Saves list
11 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hosts with the Most”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

To celebrate my 70th birthday in October, 2012 my wife took me on a surprise visit by train to Whitby in order to give access to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. My wife decided on the Rosslyn Guest House as she liked the response she received when making preliminary enquiries over the telephone . As it turned out my wife's perception of our hosts was well founded as Patsy and Jo were an absolute joy, full of fun and hospitality. We could not have been made more welcome. Breakfast was taken in the very light and attractive front room with its high ceiling. On my birthday there was a 70th birthday balloon floating above our table in the bay window and a little cake with a candle. Every morning we watched the local dairyman, J. Ventress (shades of Heartbeat) deliver the milk. The house is situated in a residential area with a very wide street so there is ample room for parking for those not fortunate enough to have come by train The station is about a 6 minute taxi ride down the hill. We fell in love with Whitby. Coming from Cornwall we were surprised how attractive the area is. We hope to return one year when the NYMR is running at full strength. If so we shall have no hesitation in returning to the Rosslyn Guest House.

Room Tip: Patsy and Jo will allocate the best available at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
accy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay at Rosslyn House. We had a great time. Jo and Patsy are brilliant hosts and were great with our ten month old daughter. Our room was clean, spacious and well furnished.
The breakfast is delicious and there is plenty of choice on the breakfast menu.
A good bonus is the guest kitchen, which was handy for washing kids bottles etc.
The location is great, it is a five minute walk to the harbour/sea front.
When we return to Whitby we will be staying here.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which had plenty of room for a travel cot and loads of wardrobe space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Jo and Patsy were so nice, welcomed us and helped us with all of our bags up to our room with the baby. They also gave us great tips on where to go and where was family friendly.
The breakfast was delicious, came quickly, and was really fresh. Full Yorkshire brekky one morning and a Whitby kipper the next. They even made some special scrambled egg for the baby. They even lit a candle in a croissant for my bday :)
Double room was nice and big- big enough to have the travel cot up and still have room to move around and plenty of storage space. Bathroom very clean. Bed was not a huge double but comfy and lovely bedding.

Only 5 mins walk to the centre / harbour and really close to sea views and parks etc.

Would go back again as we feel 2 nights is not enough to see Whitby! Thanks :)

Room Tip: The double room was big enough for families with just a baby -easily fit a travel cot inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are going to Whitby for a break you must check out Rosslyn House. It is perfectly located for exploring Whitby on foot. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with all the amenities you would expect to find. A warm and friendly welcome await from Jo and Patsy when you arrive with nothing too much trouble for them. A superb breakfast with plenty of choice set you up for the day so that we found that we could skip lunch altogether.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Jo and Patsy were so welcoming to me and my elderly parents. Their guesthouse has everything you need, and we felt at home straight away passing the gorgeous patio garden. We went for fossil collecting which meant a very early start with the tides so they made us some delicious BLT sandwiches in addition to putting our cereals and yogurts.

If in Whitby check out www.RomeroJos.com, Costa Rican food - makes a change from all the fish and chips, and it blew us away with tasty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned home from a short 2 night break at the Rosslyn guest house, it's the first time my partner and I have stayed there and I must say it will not be the last. Jo and Patsy are wonderful hosts and made us instantly feel at home from the moment we walked through the door. The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable with en-suite facilities - complete with pretty toiletries (soap/body wash and shampoo). The choices for your breakfast are amazing and the breakfasts are Moorish. The area is lovely and if you sit outside in the pretty courtyard garden you can see Whitby Abby - lovely view. Close to all of Whitby's attractions, in my opinion you will not find a nicer place or more accommodating wonderfully proud hosts. Would we go back ? I should say so, we loved it and Jo and Patsy.
Thanks for being very understanding both of you - hope to see you again soon xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have recently returned from an over night stay at the Rosslyn and couldn't recommend it highly enough, our room was extremely clean with modern fresh décor with everything you needed provided. Breakfast was delicious, freshly made with lots of choice. Jo and Patsy are great hosts making everyone feel welcome and looked after, nothing was too much trouble. Our only complaint we couldn't stay longer! We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn House

Address: 11 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior 4 star Whitby guesthouse. Quality accommodation in large en-suite bedrooms in a central location. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosslyn House Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosslyn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.