We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arches Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arches Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8, Havelock Place, | Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 144 Whitby B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Warm and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Last weekend 16th March 2013 stayed at The Arches B & B. Hotel which is placed one road from the sea one way and could see Whitby Abbey with its falling cliff from the pavement the other. It was cold weather but the hotel was beautifully warm as was our greeting. Our room was large and comfortably furnished, crisp white linen and the ensuite shower/bathroom had recently be refurbished to an extremely high standard. We had been greeted with tea and biscuits but there were plenty of these in the room. Breakfast was as advertised, plenty to eat withfull breakast and home made jams together with extras such as banana bread and strawberry fresh fruit salad and the service could not be faulted. Lots to do in Whitby, I call it 'a Northern St. Ives' and next time will stay at The Arches again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on street level and bay window, ensuites modern and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
67
167
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A superb place to stay, I would highly recommend it and laura and Dave made me feel very welcome. I would certainly make a return visit. The locale of the bed and breakfast is ideally situated on a quiet street with shops, bars, restaurants and the sea front nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a very warm & friendly welcome and were shown to a lovely room which was clean and spacious. We were offered a map, restaurant recommendations & a fresh pot of tea & biscuits - a lovely touch.
We stayed for 3 nights & it was the perfect base to explore Whitby. The breakfast was excellent as well.
The only reason I have marked it down slightly is that our toilet roll & tissues were never replenished. A very minor gripe considering how much we enjoyed staying there though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just returned from yet another fantastic stay at The Arches in Whitby, as always the service was second to none. The room was spotless and the breakfast amazing. Tea and cakes on arrival are always very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for Dave and Laura. Once again a fabulous time was had by all and we will be back again very soon. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Dave and Laura make you very welcome, very clean and tidy rooms. Use all local food for a really good breakfast. Fantastic choice. Loved it. Been to other B&B in the area and this one stands out a mile. Would recommend over hotels and other places. Love it.

Room Tip: Quiet when trying to sleep but in throwing distances of everything in Whitby. Didnt need to move th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Six of us have just come back from a very nice stay. We were made very welcome on arrival and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. We even had a pot of tea made for us on arrival after our long journey along with some nice home made biscuits.

Our room was very nice and spacious with a compact but clean and fully working modern bathroom with plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was very nice and the bacon and suasage very tasty. My wife particulary enjoyed the fruit and cereal selection that was also available.

As we were staying with friends a residents lounge would have been nice for us but hey its a B&B so thats not normal anyway and it didnt spoil anything - it would have just been a 'nice to have'. Nothing though to deter another stay here!

All in all a fantastic B&B in a fantastic location for all the shops and the sights of Whitby and above all a very pleasant and friendly host!

We cant wait to come back and once again enjoy the friendlyness and hospitality that we had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A lovely warm welcome at the Arches Guesthouse inclusing a pot of tea and biscuits. Along with two other couples my husband and I were stopping in Whitby at the Arches for 1 night. Great location within easy walking distance of all the attractions. We stayed in the 'Attic Room' - with orginal beams and plenty of light. Very cosy and romantic. Plenty of choice for breakfast, using locally sourced produce too. Ladies, although there is a full length mirror in the bathroom you may want to take a little mirror to put on the sidetable when drying hair (unless your cable is very long!).

Room Tip: Attic room very cosy and romantic but not great if you are tall although plenty of other bigger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arches Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches Guesthouse

Address: 8, Havelock Place, | Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arches Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a Victorian, 4 star, family run Guest House. We are situated conveniently on Whitby’s West Cliff which is only a 5 minute stroll from town, the harbour or beach. Our Stylishly decorated rooms have Egyptian cotton bedding and towels, complementary refreshments, Wi-Fi, and modern flat screen TVs. Each of our double, twin, & family rooms are en-suite, and our single rooms each have private bathrooms. We offer generous breakfasts including full English, vegetarian and daily specials, as well as fresh fruit salad, home baked muffins (baked daily), homemade marmalade and preserves, not to mention real coffee! A warm welcome on arrival starting with the offer of a pot of tea or coffee helping you to relax straight away; would you like another homemade cookie…………? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arches Guesthouse Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arches Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arches Guesthouse to your Saves list